back
National Library Programmes
detail banner

Sheikh Zayed Book Award

Overview

Gallery

Did you know

Recognising Creativity

LISTEN TO THIS PAGE
The award recognises outstanding writers and publishers contributing to the enrichment of Arabic literature

The Sheikh Zayed Book Award honours the outstanding achievements of innovators and thinkers in literature, the arts and humanities in Arabic and other languages. Launched in 2006 and covering nine categories, the award promotes creativity, advances Arabic literature and culture, and provides new opportunities for Arabic-language writers.

Authors writing about Arab culture and civilisation in English, French, German, Italian and Spanish also are recognised by the award.

In addition to honouring writers and their publishers, the award addresses the important role that translators play in helping bridge the cultural and literary gap between Arab and non-Arab readers and authors.

Open to any individual contributing to the region’s cultural development, the award categories include: Contribution to the Development of Nations, Children’s Literature, Young Author, Translation, Literature, Literary and Art Criticism, Arabic Culture in Other Languages, Publishing and Technology, and Cultural Personality of the Year (individual and organisation).

Each award category has its own judging panel that is comprised of three to five distinguished regional and international literary figures.

Past International Winners

Sheikh Zayed Book Award recognises the achievements of exceptional writers, intellectuals and cultural figure from around the world. Past honourees include the prize’s inaugural winner, British author Marina Warner, French/Lebanese author Amin Maalouf, as well as Italian historian Mario Liverani, French/Egyptian researcher Rushdie Rashed, and German researcher David Wirmer.

 

Award Namesake

Named in honour of the late Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan, former Ruler of Abu Dhabi and President of the United Arab Emirates, the prize is an independent cultural award managed by the Department of Culture and Tourism - Abu Dhabi.

 

For more information on the Sheikh Zayed Book Award, click here.

Did you know ?

Winners in each category receive AED 750,000 in prize money, a certificate of merit and a Gold Medal.

POSTCARD

Craft a postcard to send to a friend or family member, online or through the post.

Select an image

SELECT AN IMAGE

Write note

WRITE A NOTE

Email

ENTER EMAIL/ POSTAL ADDRESS

Send A postcard

HAVE YOUR SAY

برامج دار الكتب الوطنية
detail banner

جائزة الشيخ زايد للكتب

نظرة عامة

الصور

هل تعلم

تقدير لكل مبدع

استمع للصفحة
يتمثل دور الجائزة في الإشادة بأعمال المؤلفين والناشرين المتميزين التي ساهمت في إثراء الثقافة والأدب العربي.
تُمنح جائزة الشيخ زايد للكتاب كل سنة للمبدعين من المفكِّرين، والناشرين، والشباب، عن مساهماتهم في مجالات التأليف، والترجمة في العلوم الإنسانية التي لها أثر واضح في إثراء الحياة الفكرية والأدبية والثقافية والاجتماعية، وذلك وفق معاييرَ علمية وموضوعية. وتهدف الجائزة بفئاتها التسعة التي تم إطلاقها عام 2006 إلى دعم الأعمال الإبداعية وتقدم الأدب والثقافة العربية، فضلاً عن الفرص الجديدة التي تتيحها للمؤلفين بالعربية.
تقدر الجائزة أيضاً المفكرين والباحثين الذين يكتبون باللغات الأخرى كالإنجليزية والفرنسية والألمانية والإيطالية والإسبانية، من المهتمين بالثقافة والحضارة والمعارف والعلوم والمجتمعات العربية عبر التاريخ.
فضلاً عن تكريم المؤلفين ودور النشر، تولي الجائزة اهتماماً بالدور المهم الذي يلعبه المترجمون في تجسير الفجوة الثقافية والأدبية بين الثقافة العربية والثقافات الأخرى.
تتضمن الجائزة تسع فئات هي: التنمية وبناء الدولة، الآداب، أدب الطفل والناشئة، المؤلف الشاب، الترجمة، الفنون والدراسات النقدية، الثقافة العربية في اللغات الأخرى، النشر والتقنيات الثقافية وشخصية العام الثقافية (للأفراد والمؤسسات).
يتم تعيين لجنة تحكيم تتألف من ثلاث إلى خمس شخصيات أدبية بارزة على المستوى المحلي والدولي لكل فئة من فئات الجائزة.
 

الفائزون السابقون



تُشيد جائزة الشيخ زايد للكتاب بإنجازات المؤلفين والمفكرين والمثقفين المتميزة من جميع أنحاء العالم. تضم قائمة الفائزين السابقين مجموعة من المبدعين، مثل الفائز الأول بالجائزة: المؤلفة البريطانية مارينا وارنر، والمؤرخ الإيطالي ماريو ليفراني، والباحث الفرنسي/ المصري رشدي راشد، والباحث الألماني ديفيد فيرمر.

جائزة باسم الشيخ زايد



تقديراً لمكانة المغفور له بإذن الله الشيخ، زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان، طيب اللَّه ثراه، الحاكم السابق لأبوظبي ورئيس دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، تعتبر هذه الجائزة الثقافية من بين الجوائز المستقلة التي تتولى إدارتها دائرة الثقافة والسياحة - أبوظبي

لمزيد من المعلومات حول جائزة الشيخ زايد للكتاب، انقر هنا.

هل تعلم ؟

يحصل الفائزون في كل فئة على 750000 درهم إماراتي وشهادة تقدير وميدالية ذهبية. وتبلغ القيمة الإجمالية لهذه الجائزة سبعة ملايين درهم إماراتي سنوياً.

بطاقة بريدية

صمم بطاقة بريدية لإرسالها إلى أحد الأصدقاء أو أفراد العائلة عبر الإنترنت

Select an image

اختر صورة

Write note

اكتب ملاحظة

Email

ادخل البريد الالكتروني

أرسل بطاقة بريدية

شارك برأيك