back
Cultural Programmes

OverView

How can we help?

Gallery

What is Abu Dhabi’s modern heritage?

The modern heritage of Abu Dhabi refers to cultural significant examples of architecture and urbanism that narrate the significant historical, socio-cultural, and economic changes that took place in the Emirate since the distribution of wealth generated from the export of oil.

 

Modern heritage may be architectural or urban places and encompasses structures, single or groups of buildings, districts, sites, areas, landscapes and urban spaces that are important due to their aesthetic, architectural, historical, scientific, social or technological values to past, present or future generations. 

 

Modern heritage is considered an intrinsic part of Abu Dhabi’s tangible heritage and cultural identity. The cultural significance of modern heritage is embodied in the place itself and in its character-defining elements such as material fabric, forms, location and setting, spatial configurations, uses and cultural associations or meanings

Modern Heritage Logo small 2

Why is Modern Heritage Significant?

Modern heritage comprises the most recent layers of Abu Dhabi’s recent history. Modern heritage draws its significance from historic, political, symbolic, social, economic, aesthetic or technological values. These sites may be important because they are associated with significant persons or events that have shaped the Emirate. These sites and their urban context might derive their significance as symbols of integrating modernization with tradition or because they are local paradigms of  urban planning and architectural design in the last 50 years. 

 

Modern heritage buildings may be significant for their aesthetics, technological values; while modern urban heritage sites are markers of rapidly evolving urban character in response to social and cultural changes. 

A SHARED RESPONSIBILITY

Safeguarding modern heritage is now required by Abu Dhabi's Cultural Heritage Law (4/2016), which considers all tangible and intangible heritage, irrespective of its age. It is a civic responsibility towards present and future generations.

 

Modern heritage provides a sense of permanence and continuity. These sites contribute to the live ability of the Emirate and the well-being of its residents by fostering a sense of community through place making and collective memory.

 

Modern Heritage will contribute to Abu Dhabi's sustainability goals by reducing the carbon footprint resulting from demolition and redevelopment. The initiative can diversify the economy by stimulating alternative real estate investments into reuse and revitalization of the existing built environment.

 

Protecting and leveraging Abu Dhabi’s modern heritage will contribute to nurturing Abu Dhabi’s aspiration to become a cultural capital.

 

What are the criteria for registering modern heritage?

A modern heritage site shall be listed on the Register of Modern Heritage of Abu Dhabi if it is culturally significant and satisfies one or more of the following criteria:

 

• The site is important in demonstrating the evolution or pattern of Abu Dhabi’s history.

• The site is unique, rare, uncommon or contains endangered aspects of Abu Dhabi’s cultural heritage.

• It has the potential to contribute to an understanding of Abu Dhabi’s history.

• It is important in demonstrating the principal characteristics of a particular type or period.

• The site is important because of its aesthetic value.

• It demonstrates a high degree of creative or technical achievement during a particular period.

• It has strong or special association with a particular community, locality or cultural group for social or cultural reasons.

• It has special association with the life or works of a person, or group of persons, of importance.

• It exhibits developments in architecture or technology, monumental arts, town-planning or landscape design.

 

How can we safeguard modern heritage?

The first step is to acknowledge, document and celebrate the importance of Abu Dhabi’s architectural and urban heritage.

 

Investing in regular preventive maintenance and cyclical remedial repairs will prolong the physical fabric of these sites in a more cost-effective way. Rehabilitation or compatible adaptations, sensitive upgrades and additions can ensure the continued use of these sites.

 

Accepting these sites as assets that add value to new developments and drive revitalization programs is key to guiding sustainable development.

 

Events

Go to calendar

POSTCARD

Craft a postcard to send to a friend or family member, online or through the post.

Select an image

SELECT AN IMAGE

Write note

WRITE A NOTE

Email

ENTER EMAIL/ POSTAL ADDRESS

Send A postcard

HAVE YOUR SAY

البرامج الثقافية
detail banner

التراث الثقافي الحديث

تشغيل

نظرة عامة

كيف يمكنني المساعدة؟

الصور

ما هو التراث الثقافي الحديث لإمارة أبوظبي؟

يشير التراث الثقافي الحديث لإمارة أبوظبي إلى النماذج العمرانية والمعمارية ذات قيم ثقافية بارزة، والتي تروي التغيرات التاريخية والاجتماعية والثقافية والاقتصادية الكبيرة التي حدثت في الإمارة منذ توزیع الثروة الناتجة عن تصدیر النفط بعد التحول عن الاسلوب التقليدي في البناء.

 

يشمل تصنيف التراث الثقافي الحديث المواقع العمرانية أو المعمارية وما يندرج تحتهما من؛ هياكل ومنشآت ومباني منفردة ومجموعة من المباني والفراغات الداخلية، إضافةً إلى الأحياء والمواقع والمناظر الطبيعية الثقافية والمساحات العمرانية التي تبرز أهميتها تبعاً لقيمها التاريخية أو الاجتماعية أو المعمارية أو الجمالية أو العلمية أو التكنولوجية، للماضي والحاضر أو لأجيال المستقبل.

 

كما يعتبر التراث الثقافي الحديث جزءًا لا يتجزأ من تراث إمارة أبوظبي المادي وهويتها الثقافية، حيث تتجلى الأهمية الثقافية للتراث الثقافي الحديث في المكان نفسه والعناصر التي تحدد شخصيته مثل؛ مواد وتقنيات البناء وبنيته وموقعه ومحيطه إضافةً إلى التكوينات المكانية والاستخدامات الوظيفية والارتباطات والقيم الثقافية.

ما أهمية التراث الثقافي الحديث؟

يضم تراث أبوظبي الثقافي الحديث أحدث طبقات الإمارة التاريخية، حيث يستمد أهميته من قيمه التاريخية أو السياسية أو الرمزية أو الاجتماعية أو الاقتصادية أو الجمالية أو التكنولوجية. قد تحمل هذه المواقع أهمية خاصة لارتباطها بشخصيات أو أحداث مهمة ساهمت بتشكيل ملامح الإمارة. كما تستمد هذه المواقع وسياقها العمراني أهميتها كرموز لدمج الاسلوب الحديث مع التقليدي أو باعتبارها نماذج لنتاج محلي للتخطيط العمراني والتصميم المعماري في السنوات الخمسين الماضية.

 

قد تكون مباني التراث الثقافي الحديث ذات أهمية نسبةً إلى جمالياتها وقيمها التقنية، في حين تبرز مواقع التراث الثقافي الحديث العمرانية كعلامات للتتطور السريع والمستمر للطابع العمراني في إمارة أبوظبي تبعاً للتغيرات الإجتماعية والثقافية فيها. 

حماية التراث الثقافي الحديث لإمارة أبوظبي، مسؤولية مشتركة

إن حماية التراث الثقافي الحديث أمر يقتضيه القانون رقم (4) لسنة 2016 بشأن التراث الثقافي لإمارة أبوظبي، والذي يأخذ في الاعتبار الأهمية الثقافية سواء كان تراثاً مادياً أو معنوياً بغض النظر عن العمر الزمني. حيث تعد حماية التراث الثقافي الحديث مسؤولية مدنية تقع على عاتق الجميع في القطاعين العام والخاص تجاه الأجيال الحالية والقادمة.

 

تحقق مبادرة الحفاظ على التراث الثقافي الحديث أهداف الاستدامة في إمارة أبوظبي، بما يضمن تحسين الجوانب المعيشية في الإمارة ورفاهية سكانها من خلال تعزيز روح الانتماء للمكان و ربط المواقع والأماكن بالذاكرة الجماعية والإحتفاء بها.

 

كما تساهم المبادرة في الحد من انبعاثات الكربون الناتجة عن الهدم وإعادة التطوير، إضافة إلى توفير التنوع في الاقتصاد من خلال تحفيز الاستثمارات العقارية البديلة بإعادة استخدام وتنشيط البيئة العمرانية القائمة، ما يؤدي إلى حماية التراث الثقافي الحديث لإمارة أبوظبي وتعزيز تطلعاتها لتصبح عاصمة ثقافية.

 

معايير إدراج التراث الثقافي الحديث في السجل

يتم إدراج مواقع التراث الحديث في سجل ممتلكات التراث الثقافي الحديث لإمارة أبوظبي إذا امتلك أهمية ثقافية فضلاً عن تلبيته معياراً واحداً أو أكثر من المعايير التالية:

 

  • له أهمية في عرض تطور و تجسيد تاريخ أبوظبي.
  • فريد ، نادر،غير شائع أو يجسد جوانب مهددة بالاندثار من التراث الثقافي لأبوظبي.
  • يتمتع بكونه مصدراً للمعلومات التي ستساهم في فهم تاريخ أبوظبي.
  • له دور هام في عرض الخصائص والسمات الرئيسية لنمط أو فترة خاصة.
  • هام بسبب قيمته الجمالية.
  • يعرض درجة أعلى من الإنجاز الإبداعي أو التقني في فترة معينة.
  • له ارتباط قوي أو خاص بمجتمع خاص أو مجموعة محلية أو ثقافية لأسباب اجتماعية أو ثقافية.
  • له صلة خاصة بحياة أو أعمال شخص أو مجموعة أشخاص ذوو أهمية.
  • يعرض تطورات في الهندسة المعمارية أو التقنية أو الأعمال التذكارية الهائلة أو تخطيط المدن أو تصميم المناظر الطبيعية.

 

كيف نحمي التراث الثقافي الحديث؟

يعد الإعتراف بالتراث العمراني و المعماري وتوثيقه والاحتفاء به ،الخطوة الأولى لحماية التراث الثقافي الحديث لإمارة أبوظبي.

 

إن الاستثمار في إجراء الصيانة الوقائية المنتظمة والإصلاحات الدورية يساعد في إطالة أمد المكونات المادية لهذه المواقع، بطريقة اقتصادية فعّالة. كما يضمن إعادة تأهيل هذه المواقع أو تكييفها باستعمالات وظيفية متوافقة و إجراء التحسينات والإضافات اللازمة بطريقة حساسة تحافظ على أصالة عناصرها؛ استدامة استخدامها على المدى البعيد.

 

يمثل الاعتراف وقبول هذه المواقع باعتبارها أصول ذات قيمة مضافة إلى التطويرات المستمرة والحديثة واعتبارها المحفز لعمليات التأهيل عنصراً أساسياً يضمن استمرارية التنمية المستدامة.

بطاقة بريدية 

صمم بطاقة بريدية لإرسالها إلى أحد الأصدقاء أو أفراد العائلة عبر الإنترنت

Select an image

اختر صورة

Write note

اكتب ملاحظة

Email

ادخل البريد الالكتروني

أرسل بطاقة بريدية

شارك برأيك