back
Cultural Programmes
detail banner

Abu Dhabi International Translation Conference

Overview

Postcard

Abu Dhabi International Translation Conference

LISTEN TO THIS PAGE
The Abu Dhabi International Translation Conference is a four-day conference which will take place from 26th to 29th April as part of the Abu Dhabi International Book Fair (ADIBF), which will be held from 25th April to 1st May at the Abu Dhabi National Exhibition Centre.

This sixth edition of the conference will include four workshops;  ‘Scientific translation skills in the field of astronomy’, ‘Scientific translation skills in the field of mathematics’, ‘Scientific translation skills in the fields of physics and chemistry’, and ‘Scientific translation skills in the field of nuclear energy’.
The Abu Dhabi International Translation Conference, organised by DCT Abu Dhabi, aims to emphasise the role of translation in building bridges between civilisations and nations, developing the capacities of young translators, supporting the next generation to continue the march of transferring culture, science and arts from and into Arabic, as well as preparing trained translators in the field of scientific translation.
It also aims at improving the quality of translation in the Arab world, especially in the field of science and mathematics translation

About the Scientific Translation

Translation is not merely a tool to transfer meaning from one language to another; it is a linguistically and intellectually enriching tool capable of moving the stagnation of scientific and cultural language and thought provided that it is activated correctly. 
The scientific translation is considered one of the most difficult areas of translation in the modern era for two reasons, the first of which is its association with modern-day scientific terminology, which does not have synonyms expressed in the traditional linguistic structure. The second is that a scientific text is a text that expresses specific scientific facts, which dictates a reliable transfer of its content and meaning without any infringement or modification in the content translated from one language to another. 
Scientific translation is necessary because it helps transfer scientific research to the target language, enabling it to keep pace with civilisation and developments taking place.
This type of translation requires the translator to preserve the order of the elements of the translated text as they appear in the original text, as the translator is prohibited from changing the order of the text, contrary to literary translation.


Duration

Four working days in conjunction with Abu Dhabi International Book Fair (25 April - 1 May)
Conference Days (26, 27, 28, 29 April 2018)


The Idea

Workshops on scientific translation to be held over a period of four days, participants are to include specialists of Arab youth (6-7 specialists), in addition to translation students from local, GCC countries and Arab universities (4-5 students) to attend as listeners, as well as a one-day conference comprising panel sessions on the last day of the training workshops.


Objectives

- Highlighting the importance of the role of translation in building bridges between civilisations and nations.
- Building the capacities of young translators and supporting the younger generation to continue the march of transferring cultures, sciences and literature from and into Arabic.
- Preparing trained cadres of Arab scientific translation specialists.
- Improving the quality of translation in the Arab world, especially in the field of science and mathematics translation.
- Underlining the problems faced in scientific translation.
- Providing a platform that facilitates exchange of expertise between young and experienced translators in the field of scientific translation.

Conference components

Panel sessions at the opening of the conference covering various topics in scientific translation
Workshops
Panel sessions at the end of the conference including the results of the workshops and their important outputs


First: Parallel Workshops

Translators face a challenge that only they face, as they are required to transfer meaning from one language into another without altering the text’s content and meaning, while also facing new terminology that is yet to exist in the target language! This raises the question: how can we work to improve the quality of Arabic scientific translation? What kind of efforts should we make to achieve that goal?

Within the context of the conference, four parallel training workshops on scientific translation will be held. These workshops aim to train translators to deal with the challenges and complications arising while translating scientific works through making them translate a number of short scientific texts to help them extract and acquire specialised scientific skills related to transferring texts to the target language. A group of experienced and competent translators and academics will present the workshops, which will only be attended by translators, totaling 40 young translators, taking into account equal representation of Arab countries, in addition to 4 professional translation moderators.


If you are interested in joining the workshops, click here to register and reserve a place.

 

Postcard

Craft a postcard to send to a friend or family member, online or through the post.

Select an image

SELECT AN IMAGE

Write note

WRITE A NOTE

Email

ENTER EMAIL/ POSTAL ADDRESS

Send A postcard

Have Your Say

البرامج الثقافية
detail banner

مؤتمر أبوظبي الدولي للترجمة

نظرة عامة

بطاقة بريدية

مؤتمر أبوظبي الدولي للترجمة

استمع للصفحة
تنظم دائرة الثقافة والسياحة – أبوظبي فعاليات الدورة السادسة من مؤتمر أبوظبي الدولي للترجمة على مدى 4 أيام في الفترة من 26 ولغاية 29 أبريل ضمن فعاليات معرض أبوظبي الدولي للكتاب الذي يقام من 25 أبريل ولغاية 1 مايو في مركز أبوظبي الوطني للمعارض.

يتضمن مؤتمر أبوظبي الدولي للترجمة أربع ورشات هي "ورشة عمل مهارات الترجمة العلمية في مجال الفلك، ورشة عمل مهارات الترجمة العلمية في الرياضيات، ورشة عمل مهارات الترجمة العلمية في مجالي الفيزياء والكيمياء، ورشة عمل مهارات الترجمة العلمية في مجال الطاقة النووية". 
يهدف المؤتمر إلى تأكيد أهمية الدور الذي تلعبه الترجمة في بناء الجسور بين الحضارات والشعوب، بناء قدرات المترجمين الشباب ورفد الجيل الصاعد لاستكمال مسيرة نقل الثقافات والعلوم والآداب من وإلى العربية، إعداد كوادر مُدربة من المترجمين العرب في مجال الترجمة العلمية، الارتقاء بجودة الترجمة في العالم العربي، وعلى وجه الخصوص في مجال ترجمة العلوم والرياضيات، إلقاء الضوء على إشكاليات الترجمة العلمية، إتاحة الفرصة لتبادل الخبرات بين المترجمين الشباب والمترجمين ذوي الخبرة في مجال الترجمة العليمة

عن الترجمة العلمية

ليست الترجمة مجرد أداة لنقل المعنى من لغة إلى أخرى، بل هي وسيلة إثراء لغوي ومعرفي قادرة على أن تحرّك ركود اللغة المعرفية والفكر العلمي والثقافي إنّ تم تفعيلها بالشكل الصحيح. وتعد الترجمة العلمية أحد أصعب مجالات الترجمة في العصر الحديث، وذلك لسبين: أولاهما هو ارتباطها بمصطلحات علمية حديثة لا وجود لمرادف يعبر عنها في البناء اللغوي التقليدي، وثانيهما أنّ النص العلمي هو نصّ يعبر عن حقائق علمية محددة، مما يتطلب نقل محتوى النص ومعناه نقلاً أميناً دون أي تعدي أو تعديل في محتواه المترجم من خلالها بترجمة النصوص العلمية من لغة إلى أخرى، وذلك لكي ينقل الأبحاث العلمية إلى تلك اللغة لتبقى مواكبة للحضارة وللتطورات التي يشهدها العصر.

ويشترط هذا النوع من الترجمة على المترجم أن يلتزم بترتيب عناصر النص الذي يقوم بترجمتها بحسب ورودها في النص الأصلي، حيث يمنع على المترجم تغيير ترتيب النص، بعكس الترجمة الأدبية.


المدة

أربعة أيام عمل وذلك بالتوازي مع فعاليات معرض أبوظبي الدولي للكتاب (25 أبريل _1 مايو)
أيام المؤتمر (26، 27، 28، 29 أبريل 2018) 


الفكرة

ورش عمل تكون مادتها الترجمة العلمية للمتخصصين من الشباب العرب، تُعقد على مدة أربعة أيام تضم محترفي ترجمة عددهم (6-7) إضافة إلى طلبة ترجمة من الجامعات الوطنية والخليجية والعربية بعدد (5-4( ليكونوا مستمعين، بالإضافة إلى مؤتمر جلسات حوارية لمدة يوم واحد في ختام الورش التدريبية.

 

الأهداف

- تأكيد أهمية الدور الذي تلعبه الترجمة في بناء الجسور بين الحضارات والشعوب. 
- بناء قدرات المترجمين الشباب ورفد الجيل الصاعد لاستكمال مسيرة نقل الثقافات والعلوم والآداب من وإلى العربية.
- إعداد كوادر مُدربة من المترجمين العرب في مجال الترجمة العلمية. 
- الارتقاء بجودة الترجمة في العالم العربي، وعلى وجه الخصوص في مجال ترجمة العلوم والرياضيات. 
- إلقاء الضوء على إشكاليات الترجمة العلمية.
- إتاحة الفرصة لتبادل الخبرات بين المترجمين الشباب والمترجمين ذوي الخبرة في مجال الترجمة العليمة. 

مكونات المؤتمر

جلسات حوارية في افتتاح المؤتمر تتضمن موضوعات مختلفة عن الترجمة العلمية
ورش عمل 
جلسات حوارية في الختام تتضمن نتائج ورش العمل وأهم مخرجاتها


أولا: ورش عمل متوازية


يواجه المترجم للمادة العلمية تحدياً قد لا يواجهه سواه، فهو مطالب بنقل المعنى من لغة إلى لغة أخرى، وهو أيضاً مطالب بعدم المساس بمحتوى النص ومعناه، وهو فوق ذلك كلّه أمام مصطلحات حديثة لا وجود لها في المعاجم التقليدية! وهنا يأتي السؤال: كيف يمكن لنا أن نعمل على تحسين مستوى الترجمة العلمية – العربية، وما الجهود التي ينبغي التركيز عليها لتحقيق هذا الهدف؟
ففي إطار فعاليات المؤتمر، تُعقد عدد 4 ورش عمل تدريبية متوازية حول الترجمة العلمية بهدف تدريب المترجمين على التعامل مع تحديات ترجمة الأعمال العلمية وإشكالياتها؛ من خلال العمل على ترجمة عدد من النصوص العلمية القصيرة لاستخلاص وغرس مهارات علمية متخصصة تتعلق بنقل النص إلى اللغة المستهدفة، يتولى قيادة ورش العمل مجموعة من الميسرين من المترجمين ذوي الخبرة والكفاءة والأكاديميين المتخصصين في المجال، ويكون الحضور في الورش محصورا على المترجمين فقط، بإجمالي 40 مترجماً شاباً مع مراعاة التمثيل المتكافئ والشامل للدول العربية، علاوة على 4 ميسرين محترفين في الترجمة.

لمن يرغب بالإنضمام إلى ورشات العمل، إضغط هنا لتعئبة النموذج وإرساله إلى البريد الالكتروني: [email protected]

 

بطاقة بريدية

صمم بطاقة بريدية لإرسالها إلى أحد الأصدقاء أو أفراد العائلة عبر الإنترنت

Select an image

اختر صورة

Write note

اكتب ملاحظة

Email

ادخل البريد الالكتروني

أرسل بطاقة بريدية

شارك برأيك