back
Traditional art Performance

Overview

Gallery

AL AYYALA

LISTEN TO THIS PAGE
Performing arts

Ayala is an expressive cultural folk performance practiced by certain rural and urban communities in the UAE. It involves dancing troupes, poetry, chants and drum music. The performance is given by two rows of men standing opposite each other, with each row usually consisting of twenty men, or more. It simulates battle scenes, with the performers forming tight rows and holding thin bamboo sticks symbolising arrows or swords in their hands. The rows exchange movements, symbolising victory or defeat, whilst chanting a poem in encouragement and moving their heads and sticks harmoniously with the beat of the drum.

This performance is governed by a set of rules, whereby the group is led by a person given the name of “abu” ["father"], who is responsible for setting the rhythm and speed of performance. Drummers and other "jawala" [“roving”] performers stand among the men's ranks, and turn in a ring holding their swords or rifles, from time to time tossing them into the air and catching them. Likewise, a group of girls known as “na'ashat" [inspirations], wearing traditional coloured dresses, stand at the front and move their hair from side to side, symbolising the confidence they feel because of the protection of the male performers.

The poems of encouragement that are chanted constitute an integral part of the performance. They come under the category of Nabati poetry. Different types of poem are used as appropriate to the occasion of the performance. As for the musical instruments used to make the accompanying rhythmic sounds, there are both the large drums, the “qasir" or "rass,” and small drums “takhmir" or "rahmani.” There are also tambourines and castanets. Each region and each community are characterised by their own particular form of Ayala. Those variations are expressed in the chanted poems, in the speed of the rhythm and in minor variations in movements and sound tones.

Al Ayyala- Other Participants- Thumbnail
 

Postcard

Craft a postcard to send to a friend or family member, online or through the post.

Select an image

SELECT AN IMAGE

Write note

WRITE A NOTE

Email

ENTER EMAIL/ POSTAL ADDRESS

Send A postcard

HAVE YOUR SAY

الى الخلف
فنون الأداء.

نظرة عامة

الصور

العيالة

استمع للصفحة
فنون الأداء

تعتبر العيالة عرضاً شعبياً ثقافياً معبراً، تمارسه بعض الجماعات الريفية والحضرية في دولة الإمارات، ويشتمل على فقرات راقصة وشعر وإنشاد وموسيقى الطبل. يؤدي هذا العرض صفان من الرجال يقفون مقابل بعضهما البعض، ويتكون كل صف عادة من عشرين رجلاً، أو يزيد. يحاكي العرض مشاهد المعارك حيث يشكل المؤدون صفوفاً محكمة ويحملون في أيديهم عصياً رفيعة من الخيزران ترمز للسهام أو السيوف. يتبادل الصفان الحركات، ويرمز ذلك إلى النصر أو الهزيمة، وفي هذه الأثناء، ينشد الجميع شعراً حماسياً ويقومون بتحريك رؤوسهم وعصيهم بشكل متناغم مع قرع الطبل.

تحكم هذا العرض مجموعة من القواعد، حيث يقود الجمع شخص قيادي يطلق عليه اسم " الأبو"، ويكون مسؤولاً عن تحديد إيقاع وسرعة الأداء. ويقف قارعو الطبول ، وغيرهم من أفراد المؤدين " الجوالة " بين صفي الرجال ، ويدورون في شكل حلقة وهم ممسكون بسيوفهم أو بنادقهم ثم يقذفونها من وقت لآخر في الهواء ويعاودون الإمساك بها. كما تقف مجموعة من البنات يُطلق عليهن اسم " النعاشات " وهن مرتديات الفساتين التقليدية الملونة في المقدمة، ويُقمن بتحريك شعورهن من جانب إلى آخر، ويرمز ذلك إلى الثقة التي يشعرنً بها، بسبب حماية المؤدين الذكور لهن.

وتمثل الأشعار الحماسية التي يتم إنشادها جزءاً لا يتجزأ من العرض، وتنتمي تلك الأشعار إلى فئة الشعر النبطي. وهناك أنواع مختلفة من الشعر المستخدم وفقاً لمناسبة العرض. أما بخصوص الآلات الموسيقية المستخدمة في إصدار الأصوات الإيقاعية المصاحبة، فهناك الطبول الكبيرة " القصير أو الرس "، والطبول الصغيرة " التخمير أو الرحماني "، كما أن هناك الدفوف والطوس، وتتميز كل منطقة وكل جماعة بتنويعها الخاص من العيالة، حيث يُعبر عن تلك التنوعات في القصائد، التي يتم إنشادها، وفي سرعة الإيقاع وفي الاختلاف البسيط في الحركة وفي نغمة الأصوات.

 

بطاقة بريدية

صمم بطاقة بريدية لإرسالها إلى أحد الأصدقاء أو أفراد العائلة عبر الإنترنت

Select an image

اختر صورة

Write note

اكتب ملاحظة

Email

ادخل البريد الالكتروني

أرسل بطاقة بريدية

شارك برأيك