back
Social practices ceremonies and celebrations
detail banner

Camel feeding (so’out)(1)

Overview

Gallery

Camel feeding

LISTEN TO THIS PAGE
Traditional social practices

Camel feeding, also known as camel “so’out"2 is the fatty food that is offered to camels which allows them to participate in races. It is composed of fat, honey and eggs.3 Seasonal races are held for camels in many arenas that are spread across different parts of the United Arab Emirates. Preparation involves camel herders supervising everything related to their camels that will be participating in the race, especially their training, feeding and health status.4

The purpose of so’out is to provide camels with energy, as they tend to be exhausted, especially after races. The so’out consists of ghee, honey and eggs. In this context, the narrator Ahmed Al Nuaimi mentions that so’out is comprised of cow fat to which honey and local eggs are added, and is fed to the camels after races to compensate for the exhaustion associated with participating in races. He adds that so’out is given to both regular and racing camels during the mukaid period at a rate of once a week and is usually comprised of pure fat free of any additives.5

The narrator, Al Sagheer Al Dhahiri, points out: “At first, we give them hulool for five days, after which they are given “so’out” comprised of ghee and its components.” He adds: “So’out is given to both large and small camels. To my knowledge, camels whether large or small, are given a period of rest of twenty days, in which they are fed “so’out”, comprised of cow ghee or sheep ghee, if available, as both are natural. The portion of food given during “so’out” is roughly that of a small water bottle filled to its end. "

Al Sagheer explains: “After so’out, camels should be fed pumpkin seeds, and be left to move about for about two kilometers and allowed to rest for twenty days. They must remain in their farm during the day and are not allowed to leave. He also stressed the need to avoid barley and to supply them with dates. The mixture is only given to running camels, because the running mixture is only suitable for runners.” He also warns not to excessively feed the camels ‘so’out”, whether it be cow or sheep ghee, as once is sufficient, while pumpkin seeds should be provided for twenty successive days.6

Thus, thanks to so’out and continued good feeding, camels can regain the energy and strength that they used up during the racing period. In addition, so’out is given to emaciated camels or in order to increase their strength, as the fat provides strength and luster to the hair as well as physical strength to the body.

 

POSTCARD

Craft a postcard to send to a friend or family member, online or through the post.

Select an image

SELECT AN IMAGE

Write note

WRITE A NOTE

Email

ENTER EMAIL/ POSTAL ADDRESS

Send A postcard

HAVE YOUR SAY

الى الخلف
الممارسات الإجتماعية والطقوس والإحتفالات.
detail banner

تغذية الإبل "السعوط" (1)

نظرة عامة

الصور

تغذية الإبل "السعوط" (1)

استمع للصفحة

تغذية الإبل أو مايعرف بمصطلح "سعوط الإبل"(2) هو الطعام الدسم الذي يقدم للإبل ويؤهلها للمشاركة في السباق ، ويشمل الدهن والعسل والبيض،(3) حيث تقام للهجن سباقات موسمية في العديد من الميادين التي تنتشر في أنحاء مختلفة من دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة ، يترتب الاستعداد لها قيام المضمرين بالإشراف على كل ما يتعلق بإبلهم التي ستشارك في السباق، لاسيما ما يتعلق بتدريبها وتغذيتها ومتابعة الحالة الصحية لها. (4)

والمغزى من السعوط هو مد الإبل بالطاقة وخاصة بعد السباقات لأن الإبل تكون مرهقة من جراء المشاركة في الميادين، ويتألف السعوط من السمن والعسل والبيض. وفي هذا السياق يذكر الراوي أحمد النعيمي بأن السعوط عبارة عن دهن بقر نضيف إليه العسل والبيض المحلي، ونغذي به الناقه بعد السباق للتعويض عن الإجهاد الذي تعرضت له من جراء السباق، ويضيف بأن السعوط يعطى للناقة وإبل السباق في فتره المقيظ بمعدل مرة واحدة في الأسبوع ويكون عباره عن دهن خال من أي إضافات.(5)

ويشير الراوي الصغير الظاهري : " في البداية نقوم بإعطاء الحلول لها لمدة خمسة أيام وبعد ها يتم سعطهن بالسمن ومكوناته، ويضيف : يكون السعوط للمطية العود والصغيرة، وعلى حد علمي بأن المطية تأخذ راحة لمدة عشرين يوماً، سواء كانت مطية كبيرة أو صغيرة، وتشبعها بالعيشه اللي عندك، وتسعطها سعوط سمن بقر أو سمن غنم إذا توفر لديك، لأن سمن البقر وسمن الغنم طبيعي، وأما فيما يخص المقدار المستخدم في السعوط فهو عبارة عن قياس علبة ماء صغيرة تدحبها "تملأها" وتسعطها أياها".

ويوضح الصغير: " بأنه بعد السعوط يتوجب إعطاء المطية قدراً من العيشه الخضراء مثل القت الأخضر ، كما لا بد من تركهن يروحن مسافة كيلوين ويردن لمدة عشرين يوماً، أما فترة الصبح يظلن في العزبه ولا يسرحن، كما نوه إلى ضرورة خف الشعير عنهن وإعطائهن تمراً ، أما الخلطة لا تعطى إلا للمراكيض ،لأن خلطة الركض تصلح للركض " كما نوه إلى ضرورة عدم الإكثار من السعوط سواء سمن بقر أو سمن غنم فمرة واحدة تكفي مع الاستمرار بإعطائهن القت الأخضر لمدة عشرين يوماً متواصلة. . (6)

وبذلك تستطيع الإبل بفضل السعوط والاستمرار في التغذية الجيدة في الحفاظ على نشاطها وقوتها التي استهلكت أثناء فترة السباقات. وكذلك يتم إعطاء السعوط للإبل المصابة بالهزال أو لزياده القوة حيث يعطي الدهن قوةً ولمعاناً للشعر وقوةً بدنيةً للجسم.

 

بطاقة بريدية

صمم بطاقة بريدية لإرسالها إلى أحد الأصدقاء أو أفراد العائلة عبر الإنترنت

Select an image

اختر صورة

Write note

اكتب ملاحظة

Email

ادخل البريد الالكتروني

أرسل بطاقة بريدية

شارك برأيك