back
Skills associated with traditional handicraft

Overview

Karrey

LISTEN TO THIS PAGE
Skills related to traditional craftsmanship

In the past, at the beginning of the summer season, travel to the mukaid areas would intensify, that is "traveling from hot regions to cooler regions." But in current times, journeys to the mukaid are no more than a memory that is still strongly present in the minds of parents and grandparents.

These voyages would help revive numerous professions associated with it, the most important of which being the "karrey" profession1. The karrey, plural form ‘keryan’2, would own and lease camels, that were considered their only source of income. The karrey would carry the people’s luggage, “lekshar”, on his camel while reciting, “Yo da’iya, youd iyani”. He would navigate the roads until he reached the intended destination, where the people’s luggage, “lekshar”, would be unloaded a day before their arrival.3

This coincides with the time when men would prepare to set sail with their ships to delve into the sea and dive into the depths of hayrat in search of pearls. At the same time, the women would be responsible for arranging the voyage to the mukaid and would agree with the karrey on the date and path of the journey.4

It is well-known that the paths of the mukaid journey were straightforward desert paths familiar to the hadar (the people of the coast). They were characterized by the availability of water as well as resting areas that were known to the karrey. In addition, the call of the mekarri in the midst of the deserts represented a jolt that stirred the human conscience and the hearts of beauty. Travellers would feel a sense of comfort and familiarity in their hearts towards their surroundings upon hearing the mekarri in his loudest voice as he would call on them.

The karrey would also have full knowledge of the roads leading to the mukaid, despite their vast number, whether in the mountainous regions of Ras Al Khaimah, such as Khatt, Ghalilah, Al Hail, Mairid, and Sha’am, in addition to Dibba and Masafi in the Eastern Province and the eastern coast areas extending from Kalba in the south to Dibba in the north and in between the plains extending from Al Ain to the south and to Ras Al Khaimah in the north, passing through Masafi, Al Dhaid, Falaj Al Mualla, Hatta, Masfoot, Khasab, Al Batinah and Al Buraimi, in addition to the oases of Al Ain and Liwa, which were widely known among the locals in the past. People would travel there from all directions, especially the residents of Abu Dhabi and Dubai.

In the past, the keryan in the Al Ain region would impatiently await for the mukaid season to set off at the beginning of the season in groups from Al Ain to the coast to transport the hadar, who were the people who resided on the coasts and wished to spend the summer period in Al Ain. Each group consisted of three or four keryan, each of them having a certain number of mataya (camels). Their journey would last three days, and the hadar would reach the oases of Al Ain with their abundant dates, hamba (mangoes), and fresh water. Families would wake up together, and the people of the area would harvest the dates found on the palm trees, while also conversing, sharing poetry and deepening relations between them. It should be noted that most of them were from Abu Dhabi and Jumeirah. The karrey’s fare was three rupees, which later rose to become ten rupees.

 

POSTCARD

Craft a postcard to send to a friend or family member, online or through the post.

Select an image

SELECT AN IMAGE

Write note

WRITE A NOTE

Email

ENTER EMAIL/ POSTAL ADDRESS

Send A postcard

HAVE YOUR SAY

الى الخلف
المهارات المرتبطة بالفنون الحرفية التقليدية.
detail banner

الكري ، المكاري" الجرّي ، الِمْجَاري"

نظرة عامة

الكري ، المكاري" الجرّي ، الِمْجَاري"

استمع للصفحة
المهارات المرتبطة بالفنون الحرفية التقليدية

كانت تنشط قديماً في بداية فصل الصيف حركة السفر والترحال من أجل المقيظ أي "الانتقال من المناطق الحارة إلى المناطق الباردة " ولكن في وقتنا الحاضر لم تعد رحلة المقيظ إلا ذكرى ما زالت حاضرة بقوة في ذاكرة الأجداد والآباء.

وكانت هذه الرحلة تساعد على انتعاش عدد كبير من المهن المرتبطة بها والتي من أهمها مهنة "الكري" (1) وهو صاحب ومؤجر الإبل وتعتبر مصدر دخلهم الوحيد. وجمعها كريان(2)، حيث يقوم الكري بحمل أمتعة الأهالي "لكشار" على بعيره وهو يردد أهزوجته "يو دعية يود عياني" ويمر بطرق إلى أن يصل إلى المكان المقصود حيث ينزل أمتعة الأهالي "لكشار" قبل وصولهم بيوم.(3)

يتزامن هذا مع الوقت الذي يشد الرجال أشرعة السفن للدخول إلى البحر والغوص في أعماق الهيرات بحثا عن اللؤلؤ، وفي ذات الوقت تتولى النساء أمر رحلة المقيظ ويتفقن مع الكري على موعد ومسار الرحلة . (4)

ومن المعروف أن مسارات رحلة المقيظ هي دروب صحراوية سالكة تعارف عليها الحضار (أهل الساحل) وتتوفر بها المياه وأماكن الراحة فكانت معروفة للكري، ولحدوة المكاري وسط الصحاري شجن يحرك وجدان الإنسان وقلوب الجمال فعندما يصدح المكاري بأعلى صوته يستأنس المسافرون في المكان وتدخل لقلوبهم الألفة.

كما أن الكري لديه إلمام كامل بالطرق المؤدية إلى المقايظ رغم كثرتها وتعددها سواء في مقايظ المناطق الجبلية برأس الخيمة مثل خت وغليلة والحيل ومعيريض وشعم بالإضافة إلى دبا ومسافي في المنطقة الشرقية ومناطق الساحل الشرقي الممتد من كلبا جنوبا وحتى دبا شمالاً وفي الداخل بين السهول الممتدة من العين جنوبا وحتى رأس الخيمة شمالاً مروراً بمسافي والذيد وفلج المعلا وحتا ومصفوت وخصب والباطنة والبريمي بالإضافة إلى واحات العين وليوا التي كانت لها شهرة واسعة بين الأهالي قديماً، يرتحلون إليها من كل حدب وصوب خاصة سكان أبوظبي ودبي.

وكان الكريان قديماً في منطقة العين ينتظرون موسم القيظ بفارغ الصبر لينطلقوا مع بداية الموسم في مجموعات من العين إلى الساحل لإحضار الحضار، والحضار هم أهل الساحل الذين يرغبون في قضاء فترة الصيف في العين بحيث تتكون كل مجموعة من ثلاثة أو أربعة كريان كل كري معه عدد من المطايا (الإبل) وتستغرق رحلتهم ثلاثة أيام ويعود معهم الحضار إلى واحات العين التي يتوافر فيها الرطب والهمبا"المانجو" والماء العذب وتقيظ العائلات مع بعضها وأهل النخل يخرفون /يجنون ثمار الرطب/ ويتسامرون ويقرضون الشعر وتتعمق العلاقات بينهم مع العلم أن غالبيتهم من أهل أبوظبي والجميرا. وكانت أجرة الكري ثلاث روبيات ثم ارتفعت لتصل إلى عشر روبيات.

بطاقة بريدية

صمم بطاقة بريدية لإرسالها إلى أحد الأصدقاء أو أفراد العائلة عبر الإنترنت

Select an image

اختر صورة

Write note

اكتب ملاحظة

Email

ادخل البريد الالكتروني

أرسل بطاقة بريدية

شارك برأيك