back
Skills associated with traditional handicraft

Overview

Gallery

Kami

LISTEN TO THIS PAGE
Heritage social practices, customs, traditions, and rituals.

Kami is one of the most popular traditional foods known since ancient times by Emirati families. It is extracted from goat or cow's milk and is eaten with dates. It has a delicious taste, especially if a little margarine is added to it. It is often eaten in the early morning, providing energy and vitality throughout the day.

Obtaining dairy products is subject to the considerations of taste. Not all milk can be a source of dairy products. Cow's milk is at the forefront of the quality types of milk from which butter, kami, ghee, milk are extracted as well as all other types known to Bedouin families. The types of milk obtained from cows vary, and thus so does the quantity extracted of each type. Therefore, some families insist on raising a specific type of cows as an important source of food for adults and children.

And the second source from which dairy products are extracted in the countryside and oases is sheep. Because the number of sheep is more abundant compared to the number of cows, the amount of dairy obtained from them is much more, However, sheep’s milk is not comparable to cow’s milk in terms of fat content, but despite that, sheep’s milk is the main source of dairy products. If one had the opportunity to visit the desert, they would notice the large number of sheep, as cows have limited places to gather in the desert, in which agriculture predominates and people lead a stable life, whereas sheep are more suited with the Bedouin lifestyle in moving from one place to the other in the desert.

Making jami from cow or sheep's milk goes through several stages. The first stage involves collecting the milk from in a saucepan in the morning, noon and evening, then adding a percentage of yogurt to it. It is then transferred to the saqy, which is a container made of goat skin. Many people still use it to this day, except that some have begun to use tin saqys. After putting it in the saqy, the woman performs the churning process for a long time, moving the milk back and forth until the fat is separated from the milk, and through this, kami butter is obtained. The produced quantities are collected throughout the week and are used by melting the butter to obtain a quantity of ghee which is used in food throughout the week. In the past, Bedouins would offer some of the butter for sale in the market to purchase clothes and other items for their children.

To obtain (yaqt), which is an important derivative of milk, the kami is dried under the heat of the sun throughout the day, and in the evening the material mixed with (bazaar), usually of (jiljilan) origin, is transformed to yaqt, which is a solid material that children find appetizing.1

Al Hadh Al Kuwaiti adds that the method of preparing kami is very simple, where cow’s milk is the source of kami. The woman puts milk in a pot (qadr) over a quiet (dawaa) fire and adds a little salt and leaves until it becomes curdled milk. The woman can determine when it’s done from the cracks that start to form on its surface. The woman places the remaining milk in the saqqa2 and left it attached to a rope, while stirring for long hours until the fat (ghee)3 is formed. Nowadays, the churning process is done by an electrical machine.

Al Yazia Al Mansouri adds: The method of preparing (jami) is very simple, but it requires accuracy and certain other criteria. Making “jami” first begins with milking the livestock, then fermenting the milk by placing it in a bowl and adding a little yogurt to it, then leaving it for four to six hours, until it becomes curdled milk. It is then placed in the saqqa, which is attached to a rope, and stirred in a calm manner. As a result, butter is formed and isolated to the top. A little cold water or ice is added to it to facilitate its extraction. This butter is the source of ghee.

After completing the extraction of butter, the actual stage of making (jami) begins by pouring milk into a bowl or saucepan, and putting it on a low heat for a period not exceeding twenty minutes, provided that the heat does not reach the boiling point so that its taste does not change, and it maintains its consistency. As time passes, the (jami) begins to float on the water, and after it is completely isolated, it takes the shape of a white brick. It is moved away from the fire and left for a long time until it settles and develops its original taste, thus make it easier to move to another container and adding ghee to it. It is then served with dates and sometimes bread.

The jami is preserved for long periods of time at average temperature. Due to the lack of refrigeration devices in the past, the only way by which they could preserve it for long periods of and keep it as a main source of sustenance during travel, was to dry it and turn it into dried (kami). The women would utilize the excess kami by placing it in a large bowl, sprinkling it with a little salt, then putting a transparent cover over it to protect against insects and dust. They would leave it under the sun for days, until it dried. After that, it could be carried and kept for long periods of up to a year. When they wished to consume it, they only needed to soak it in water for a period of at least 20 minutes, so that it acquired the natural texture of jami.

Aisha Al Shamsi adds that making kami differs slightly in our present time from the past, as now it is found in the form of ready-made yogurt available in all grocery stores and supermarket regardless of its types. The important thing is that it must be fresh. We place it in a pot, boil it in the same old way, then we take the layer that is formed on top and put it on a plate, adding ghee or olive oil to it and serving it with dates.4

POSTCARD

Craft a postcard to send to a friend or family member, online or through the post.

Select an image

SELECT AN IMAGE

Write note

WRITE A NOTE

Email

ENTER EMAIL/ POSTAL ADDRESS

Send A postcard

HAVE YOUR SAY

الى الخلف
المهارات المرتبطة بالفنون الحرفية التقليدية.

نظرة عامة

الصور

الكامي

استمع للصفحة
العادات والتقاليد والطقوس التراثية – المهارات المرتبطة بالحرف التقليدية 

يعتبر الكامي من الأكلات الشعبية المعروفة منذ القدم لدى الأسرة الإماراتية، ويستخلص من لبن الماعز أو البقر حيث يؤكل مع التمر ،ويتصف بطعمه اللذيذ خصوصا إذا أضيف إليه القليل من السمن العربي ، وغالبا ما يؤكل في الصباح الباكر فيمنح متناوله الطاقة والحيوية طيلة اليوم.

يعتبر الكامي من الأكلات الشعبية المعروفة منذ القدم لدى الأسرة الإماراتية، ويستخلص من لبن الماعز أو البقر حيث يؤكل مع التمر ،ويتصف بطعمه اللذيذ خصوصا إذا أضيف إليه القليل من السمن العربي ، وغالبا ما يؤكل في الصباح الباكر فيمنح متناوله الطاقة والحيوية طيلة اليوم.

 

والحصول على مشتقات الالبان يخضع لاعتبارات ذوقية اذ ليس كل حليب يمكن ان يكون مصدرا لمشتقات الالبان ، ولبن البقرة يأتي في مقدمة الانواع الجيدة التي يستخرج منها : الزبدة والكامي والسمن واللبن وكل الأنواع المعروفة لدى الاسر البدوية ،كما تختلف انواع الألبان التي تؤخذ من الأبفار ، وبالتالي الكمية المستخرجة من كل نوع ، لهذا تتمسك بعض الأسر بتربية بعض الأبقار دون غيرها كمصدر هام للحصول على الغذاء للكبار والصغار .

والمصدر الثاني الذى تستخرج منه مشتقات الالبان في البوادي والواحات هو الاغنام ونظرا لأن أعداد الاغنام أكثرمقارنة بأعداد الأبقار فان كمية الحصول على الألبان منها تكون أكثر إلا أن البانها لا ترقى الى مستوى دسم حليب الابقار ،ومع ذلك فان البانها هي المصدر الاكبر للحصول على مشتقات الالبان ،واذا سنحت لاحدنا فرصة زيارة البادية في الصحراء يلحظ كثرة عدد الاغنام لأن الأبقار تتجمع دائما في أماكن محدودة في الصحراء ممن يمتهن الناس فيها الزراعة ويعيشون حياة مستقرة أما الأغنام فإنها تتلاءم مع حياة البدوي في الانتقال من مكان إلى مكان في الصحراء .

وصناعة الجامي من حليب البقر أوالغنم تمر بعدة مراحل ،أولها جمع الحليب منها في قدر فى الصباح والظهر والمساء ، ثم إضافة نسبة من اللبن إليه ، بعدها ينقل إلى السقي وهو وعاء يصنع من جلد الماعز، ولازال الكثيرون يستخدمونه حتى وقتنا الحاضر إلا أن البعض بدأوا يستخدمون وعاء يشبه السقي مصنوعاً من مادة القصدير.

وبعد وضعه في السقي تقوم المرأة بعملية الخض لمدة طويلة أو تحريكه ذهاباً وإباباً إلى أن يتم فصل الدسم عن اللبن وبهذا يتم الحصول على الزبدة الكامي، وهكذا ينم جمع الكميات المستخلصة على مدار الأسبوع ، واستخدامها بإذابة الزبدة للحصول على كمية من السمن تستخدم في الأكل طوال الاسبوع، وفي الماضي كان البدوي يعرض جزءاً منها في السوق للحصول على ما يحتاجه من ملابس الأطفال ، وغيرها من الأغراض.

وللحصول على (اليقط) وهو من المشتقات المهمة للألبان يجفف الكامي تحت حرارة الشمس طوال اليوم وفي المساء تتحول المادة المخلوطة (بالبزار)وهو عادة ما يكون من (الجلجلان) إلى يقط وهو مادة صلبة يقبل على تناولها الأطفال بشهية.1

وحول طريقة تحضير الكامي (الجامي) يضيف الحظ الكويتي أنها بسيطة للغاية فحليب المواشي والبقر هو مصدر الكامي ،تقوم المرأة بوضع اللبن في إناء (قدر)على نار (ضوء) هادئة وأضافة القليل من الملح ويترك حتى يصبح لبنا رائبا ،وتستدل المرأة على نضوجه من خلال الشقوق التي تظهر عليه ،أما اللبن المتبقي فتقوم المرآه بوضعه في السقا2 و وتركه معلقاً بالحبل مع تحريكه (خضه) لساعات طويله حتى يتكون الدهن (السمن)3 أما الآن فيتم الخض من خلال آلة كهربائية.

وتضيف اليازية المنصوري : طريقة تحضير ( الجامي) سهلة للغاية، لكنها تتطلب الدقة ومعايير أخرى معينة، وخطوات صناعة «الجامي» تبدأ أولاً بحلب المواشي ثم تخميره الحليب الذي بوضعه في إناء وإضافة القليل من اللبن إليه، وتركه من أربع إلى ست ساعات، حتى يصبح لبناً رائباً، ويوضع بعد ذلك في (السقا) الذي يعلق بالحبل ، ويحرك بطريقة هادئة، ونتيجة تحريكه تتكون الزبدة التي تنعزل وتظهر فوق اللبن، يضاف إليها القليل من الماء البارد أو الثلج ليسهل استخراجها، وهي التي يصنع منها السمن

بعد الانتهاء من استخراج الزبدة، تبدأ المرحلة الفعلية لصناعة (الجامي) من خلال سكب اللبن في وعاء أو قدر، ووضعه على نار هادئة لمدة لا تتجاوز العشرين دقيقة، شريطة ألا تصل الحرارة إلى درجة الغليان حتى لا يتغير طعمه، ويظل محافظاً على تماسكه، ومع مرور الوقت يبدأ (الجامي) في الطفو على الماء، وبعد أن ينعزل بصورة تامة ويصبح على شكل قالب أبيض، يُحمل عن النار ويترك فترة طويلة إلى أن يفتر ويأخذ طعمه الأصلي، ليسهل بعد ذلك نقله إلى وعاء آخر ، مع إضافة السمن العربي إليه ، ثم يقدم مع التمر والخبز في بعض الأحيان.

يتم حفظ (الجامي) لفترات طويلة تحت درجة برودة متوسطة، ونظراً لعدم توفر أجهزة تبريد في الماضي، فقد كان السبيل الوحيد أمامهم للاستفادة منه لفترات طويلة وحفظه كمؤونة رئيسية أثناء السفر، التجفيف وتحويله إلى (يقط)، وهو عبارة عن (كامي) مجفف، يحضّر من البقايا الزائدة عن الحاجة، إذ كانت النساء في السابق تضع «الجامي» في إناء كبير، وترش عليه قليلاً من الملح، ثم تضع فوقه غطاءً شفافاً يحميه من الحشرات والغبار وتتركه تحت أشعة الشمس لمدة تصل إلى أيام، حتى يجف. بعد ذلك يمكن حمله وحفظه لفترات طويلة تصل إلى عام، وعند الرغبة في تناوله، لا يتطلب الأمر سوى نقعه في الماء لمدة لا تقل عن 20 دقيقة، ليأخذ بعد ذلك الشكل الطبيعي لـ الجامي.

وأضافت عايشه الشامسي أن صنع الكامي اختلف قليلا في وقتنا الحاضر عن الماضي ، فهو االآن عباره عن لبن جاهز موجود في الجمعيات وسوبر ماركات بغض النظر عن أنواعه ،المهم يكون طازجاً ،ونضعه في القدر ونغلية بنفس الطريقة القديمة ،ثم نأخذ الطبقة التي تتكون في الأعلى ،ونضعها في طبق ونضيف اليها السمن او زيت الزيتون وتقدم مع التمر .4

بطاقة بريدية

صمم بطاقة بريدية لإرسالها إلى أحد الأصدقاء أو أفراد العائلة عبر الإنترنت

Select an image

اختر صورة

Write note

اكتب ملاحظة

Email

ادخل البريد الالكتروني

أرسل بطاقة بريدية

شارك برأيك