back
Knowledge and practices related to nature and the universe

Overview

Gallery

Hijama

Knowledge and practices concerning nature and the universe

Cupping is a type of both ancient and modern traditional medicine used in the treatment is some diseases. It was used in the distant past with primitive methods and is still used today in various parts of the world. In Islamic Arab countries, it is practiced on the basis of a religious belief mentioned in the hadiths of the Prophet, PBUH. It is practiced by doctors and individuals who have experience and knowledge in this field.

  1. Dr. Abdullah Ali Al Tabour mentions in his book ‘Traditional medicine in the UAE medicine in the UAE - 3rd Edition – 2008’ (1) that:
  2. Cupping is considered one of the oldest types of treatment known to man. It is basically a surgical operation intended to reduce or cure inflammation that occurs in organs that are not deemed inoperable without this medium. It is done by stimulating the movement of a certain amount of blood to the exterior. This aims to stimulate the internal organs of the body through specific points located along energy lines, in order for the body to resume normal functions.

    Cupping has certain prerequisites which the person wishing to undergo the procedure must adhere to, and some of the prerequisites as outlined by cupping specialists include:

    1. After a person undergoes the cupping procedure, they must refrain from bathing until 4 pm to avoid any risks that bathing may entail

    2. Cupping should not be done on a full stomach.

    3. The person undergoing the procedure should refrain from sleeping until nighttime.

    4. The person undergoing the procedure should refrain from eating "onions, green limes and radishes" as they may make the person bloated and lead to a stomachache.

    5. The person undergoing the procedure should remain indoors and avoid exposure to sunlight

    6. The person undergoing the procedure should avoid physical exertion, such as carrying heavy tools.

    Cupping has been known to have great benefits for adults at the prime of their life. It offers limited benefit as the person reaches forty years of age and has not previously undergone the procedure. Rather, it is preferable for those who have never done the cupping procedure by the time they reach the age of forty to avoid doing so altogether, because its harm at that time exceeds its benefit as proven by experience and practice.

    It is said that: “Cupping for people above the age of forty who have never done so is neither harmful nor beneficial.” If a person had cupped prior to reaching this age and wishes to do so again, then the benefit of cupping persists so long as that person is alive.

    The tools of cupping include:

    The horn is the that of oxen, the awl, and the shishah, which is a tool used to suck blood from the human body.1

    The preferred times for cupping:

    In a field interview with the most famous heat therapy and cupping specialist, Mr. "Aqeedah Ali Juma Al Muhairi"2:


    He mentions that there is a specific timing in which supping should be performed. In many cases, it is preferable to do so in the summer, while in winter, the weather tends to be cold, which may hinder the cupping procedure, because the severity of cold weather has its effect on the human body, thereby making cupping unhelpful and pointless. People in the United Arab Emirates used to perform cupping in the summer and the end of spring. Cupping was specifically more common on Tuesdays. They would undergo cupping on Tuesday and drink hulool on Wednesday. The procedure was done before sunrise, as people believed that this was a time of day with a moderate temperature, therefore the heat would not have much of an effect on the blood and its flow in the body. However, as the sun rose, its intense heat would lead to the further flow and mixing of blood and mixing, thereby hindering the objective of cupping which is to remove spoiled blood.

    - The concept and treatment methods of cupping have been referenced in the book, ‘Cupping - The Key to Treatment using Alternative Medicine - Ahmad Nafe’.’3

    Cupping is divided into two types:

    A- Wet cupping: It is done by a leech that sucks blood.

    B-By using cups: They are called “air cups”. The area to be cupped is sterilized well. The cup is placed on the skin and emptied of air and left for 3-5 minutes until congestion occurs. Then the cup is removed, and the site of cupping is sterilized once more. Afterwards, the site is punctured with a special needle or small scalpel, and the cup is placed once more and emptied of air again, so the skin retracts, and the blood reaches the cup.

    Dry cupping: It is also done by cups of air, but without the release of blood. This type of cupping is very beneficial for joint pain if the site of cupping is carefully chosen.

     

Field interviews

I conducted a field visit to the house of Mr. Aqeedah Ali Juma Al Muhairi (4), who is over the age of eighty and is one of the most well-known cupping and heat therapy specialists in Al Ain.

He mentioned me that he started performing the cupping procedure at the age of thirty through his colleagues who he would go pearling with. The Emiratis have been using cupping therapy for quite a long time, as have other Arab and Islamic countries that associated a strong religious belief with cupping therapy, citing the hadiths of the Messenger of Allah, PBUH, that cupping is beneficial to the human body and absolves of many diseases. He mentioned that the late Mesfer bin Saif Al Hameli, and the late Hamid bin Salem were among the emerging cupping specialists of Al Ain, who later became well known. Cupping has been used as a treatment for both men and women. He also mentions that cupping was used for those who complained of chest tightness, shortness of breath, headaches, and back and leg pain. It was also beneficial in treating the ear infections of divers. Usually those under the age of twenty did not undergo the procedure. Some would be required to undergo the procedure once a year, while for others, others once in their lifetime would be sufficient. And for the procedure itself, he mentions that he first puts a small piece of burning cloth inside a bottle and sticks the bottle to the location of pain for 3-5 minutes until the injured organ is numbed. After that, he withdraws the bottle, then uses a scalpel to make 6-10 incisions at the site where the bottle was placed. He then reapplies the bottle on the incisions to siphon off the blood. As the bottle fills up, the blood is thrown out, and the site of incision is wiped. This process is repeated if the bleeding does not stop. It may happen that bleeding does not occur, which means that that person is healthy.

In another interview I conducted in Al Ain with Mrs “Umm Mohammed”5, who has a long history and excellent experience in treatment by dry cupping by using the khibana, "air cups". She would place a little salt on a piece of cloth, and would apply it on the site of pain, while adding a little oil or alcohol on it. She would then ignite the cloth from the top and cover it with the cup until the flame would die down. The cup applies suction to the skin for 4-5 minutes. The cup is then lifted, and the area where the cloth was placed is wiped with her hand and a little bit of oil.

If the skin is not suctioned, this means that there is no disease or pain. Usually khibana was only done on women, whereas for cupping, could be performed on both men and women, old and young alike.

The diseases that she treats with the khibana include:

Back pain
Neurological pain
Psychiatric diseases in women
For back pain, she sometimes applies 4-5 cups in a row. Khibana may be repeated at any time, unlike cupping, which is recommended to be done once a year and at specific times.

In summary, the medical benefits of cupping include:

 

  • Treatment of general malaise.
  • Treatment of diseases of the digestive system.
  • Rejuvenation of the body.
  • Treatment of neurological pain.
  • Treatment of high blood pressure.
  • Elimination of spoiled blood.
  • Activation of the immune system.
  • Detoxification.
  • Treatment for high uric acid.
  • Treatment of memory impairment.
  • Prevention of stroke.

     

Postcard

Craft a postcard to send to a friend or family member, online or through the post.

Select an image

SELECT AN IMAGE

Write note

WRITE A NOTE

Email

ENTER EMAIL/ POSTAL ADDRESS

Send A postcard

HAVE YOUR SAY

الى الخلف
المعارف والممارسات المتعلقة بالطبيعة والكون.

نظرة عامة

الصور

ألحجامة

ألمعتقدات الشعبية المتصلةبالطبيعة والكون - العلاج بالحجامة

بأساليب بدائية وما زالت تستخدم للآن في شتى أنحاء العالم. وفي البلاد العربية الإسلامية تمارس من منطلق اعتقاد ديني ورد في أحاديث الرسول صلى الله عليه وسلم. ويمارسها أطباء وأفراد لديهم الخبرة والمعرفة بهذا المجال.

ويقول الدكتور عبدالله علي الطابور في كتابه الطب الشعبي في الإمارات العربية المتحدة – ط3 – 2008.

أن الحجامة تعتبر من أقدم أنواع العلاج التي عرفها الإنسان وهي في مجملها عملية جراحية يقصد بها تخفيف أو شفاء الالتهاب الذي يحصل في أعضاء لا تصل إليها العمليات الجراحية بدون هذه الواسطة أو نحوها وذلك بجذب كمية من الدم إلى الخارج. والهدف منها تنشيط أجهزة وأعضاء الجسم الداخلية من خلال نقاط محددة تقع على خطوط الطاقة كي تعود إلى ممارسة وظائفها بشكل طبيعي.

للحجامة شروط معينة يجب أن يلتزم بها الشخص الذي يريد أن يحتجم ومن شروطها ما ذكره بعض الحجامين وهي: 

  1. بعد أن يحتجم الإنسان عليه ألا يستحم حتى الساعة الرابعة عصراً تحسباً لما قد يترتب على الحمام من مخاطر.
  2. عدم الحجامة على الشبع.
  3. يجب أن يمتنع المحتجم عن النوم حتى الليل.
  4. الامتناع عن أكل "البصل، اللومي الأخضر، الرويد" لأنها قد تسبب "الريح" وآلاما في البطن.
  5. المكوث داخل المنزل، وعدم الخروج تحت الشمس.
  6. عدم القيام بمجهود عضلي، مثل حمل أدوات ثقيلة. 

ومما يذكر أن الحجامة لها فوائد جمة للإنسان إذا كان في مقتبل العمر والكهولة، وفائدتها تنعدم إذا بلغ الشخص الأربعين من عمره ولم يحتجم، بل يفضل لمن لم يحتجم حتى سن الأربعين ألا يفعل لأن ضررها حينئذ أكثر من نفعها كما ثبت بالتجربة والخبرة والممارسة.

وفي هذا يقولون "الحيامة بعد الأربعين للذي لم يحتجم لا تضره ولا تنفعه"، أما إذا كان الشخص قد احتجم قبل هذه السن وأراد أن يحتجم بعد ذلك فإن فائدة الحجامة تستمر ما دام الإنسان على قيد الحياة.

ومن  أدوات الحجامة:

القرن وهو قرن الثور، والمخرز، والشيشه التي هي عبارة عن أداة تستخدم لمص الدم من جسم الإنسان.( (  

الأوقات المفضلة لإجراء الحجامة: 

في مقابلة ميدانيه مع أشهر الوسامين والحجامين "عقيده علي جمعة المهيري"

ذكر أن للحجامة أياماً ومواعيد وأوقاتاً، ففي كثير من الأحيان يفضل أن يحتجم الإنسان في فصل الصيف، أما فصل الشتاء فقد يكون الجو بارداً مما قد يعيق عملية الحجامة لأن شدة البرودة لها تأثيرها على جسم الإنسان، ومن هنا تفقد الحجامة جدواها وفائدتها. لذا فقد كان الناس في الإمارات يحتجمون في فصل الصيف ونهاية الربيع، وبالتحديد تكثر الحجامة "يوم الثلاثاء" فهم كانوا يحتجمون يوم الثلاثاء ويشربون الحلول يوم الأربعاء، أما وقت الحجامة فهو قبل طلوع الشمس، لاعتقاد الناس أن هذه الفترة يكون الجو فيها معتدل الحرارة، وبالتالي لا يكون للحرارة تأثير في الدم وجريانه في الجسم، ولأن طلوع الشمس وما تعكسه من حرارة شديدة، يؤدي إلى جريان الدم واختلاطه، الأمر الذي لا يسهل مهمة الحجامة في استخراج الدم الفاسد.

-وقد ورد في كتاب مقتطفات من كتاب الحجامة – مفتاح العلاج في الطب البديل- أحمد نافع-  مفهوم الحجامة وطرق العلاج منها: ( ) 

والحجامة تقسم إلى قسمين: أ- الحجامة الرطبة: وتتم بواسطة دودة العلق التي تمص الدم.

ب-بواسطة الكاسات: وتسمى "كاسات الهوى": تعقم المنطقة المراد حجامتها جيداً، ويوضع كأس الحجامة على الجلد ويفرغ من الهواء، ويترك من 3-5 دقائق حتى يحدث الاحتقان. ثم يترع الكأس ويعقم مكان الحجامة مرة أخرى، وبعد ذلك يُشرط الموضع بواسطة إبرة خاصة أو مشرط صغير، ويعاد الكأس مرة أخرى ويفرغ من الهواء مرة أخرى، فينسحب الجلد ويخرج الدم إلى الكأس.

- والحجامة الجافة: وتتم بواسطة كاسات الهوى ولكن بدون خروج الدم. وهذا النوع من الحجامة نافع جداً لآلام المفاصل إذا تم اختيار مكان الحجامة بعناية.

مقابلات ميدانية:
وفي زيارة ميدانية قمت بها لمنزل السيد عقيدة علي جمعة المهيري( ) الذي تجاوز سن الثمانين وهو من الحجامين والوسامين المشهورين في مدينة العين. أخبرني بأنه مارس مهنة الحجامة وهو في سن الثلاثين حيث تعلمها من زملائه الذين كان يذهب معهم للغوص على اللؤلؤ. وقد دأب الإماراتيون على التداوي بالحجامة منذ زمن بعيد، شأنهم في ذلك شأن بقية الأقطار العربية والإسلامية الذين تكونت لديهم عقيدة دينية راسخة للتداوي بالحجامة طبقاً لما ورد في أحاديث رسول الله صلى الله عليه وسلم من أن الحجامة مفيدة لجسم الإنسان وتبرئ من كثير من الأمراض. وأخبرني أن من الحجّامين الذين برزوا واشتهروا في مدينة العين المرحوم مسفر بن سيف الهاملي، والمرحوم حامد بن سالم. وقد استخدمت الحجامة كعلاج للرجال والنساء. وعن ماهية المرض الذي يعالجه بالحجامة أخبرني بأنه يعالج من يشكو من صكة الصدر – ضيق التنفس- وآلام الرأس، وآلام الظهر والأرجل. وبالنسبة للغواصين يُحجمون لمعالجة التهاب آذانهم. وعادة لا يحجم من هم دون سن العشرين. أما بالنسبة لعدد مرات الحجامة فإن البعض تلزمهم الحجامة مرة كل عام، والبعض الآخر مرة واحدة في العمر. وعن كيفية مزاولة مهنة الحجامة يقول أنه يضع قطعة قماش صغيرة مشتعلة داخل زجاجة ويلصق الزجاجة مكان الألم لمدة 3-5 دقائق حتى يتخدر العضو المصاب وبعد ذلك يسحب الزجاجة، ثم يأتي بالمشرط ويشرط مكان منطقة الزجاجة من 6-10 شرطات، ويعيد إلصاق الزجاجة مرة أخرى على الشرطات فتبدأ الزجاجة بشفط الدم، وحين تمتلئ يُفرغها من الدم ويمسح مكان الشرطات ويعيد الكَرّه إذا لم يتوقف نزول الدم. وقد يحدث أن لا يخرج دم من جسم الإنسان وهذا يعني أن ذلك الشخص سليم.

وفي مقابلة أخرى أجريتها مع  السيدة السيدة "أم محمد" ( )  في مدينة العين والتي لها باع طويل وخبرة ممتازة في علاج الحجامة الجافة بواسطة الخبانة "كاسات الهوى" حيث تضع قليلاً من الملح في صُرة قماش، وتضعها مكان الألم، وتضع فوقها قليلاً من الزيت أو الكحول وتشعل الصُرة من الأعلى وتغطيها بالكأس حيث ينطفئ اللهب، وتعمل الكأس على شفط الجلد لمدة 4-5 دقائق ثم ترفع الكأس، وتمسح مكان الصُرة بيدها بقليل من الزيت.

وإذا لم يتم شفط الجلد فهذا يعني أنه لا يوجد مرض أو ألم. وعادة ما تكون الخبانة هذه فقط للمرأة. أما الحجامة فهي للرجال والنساء كباراً وصغاراً على حد سواء. 

أما الأمراض التي تعالجها بواسطة الخبانة فهي:

  • آلام الظهر 
  • الآلام العصبية 
  • مرض النفس عند المرأة 

وبالنسبة لآلام الظهر تضع أحياناً 4-5 كاسات متتالية. والخبانة قد تتكرر في أي وقت على عكس الحجامة التي يُنصح بأن تؤخذ مرة واحدة في العام ولها أوقات محددة. 
وفي مجمل القول فإن فوائد الحجامة الطبية:

  • لعلاج الضعف العام.
  • لعلاج أمراض الجهاز الهضمي.
  • لتجديد نشاط الجسم.
  • لعلاج الآلام العصبية.
  • لعلاج ضغط الدم.
  • تخلص الجسد من الدم الفاسد.
  • تنشيط جهاز المناعة.
  • التخلص من السموم.
  • لعلاج ارتفاع حمض البول.
  • لعلاج ضعف الذاكرة.
  • الوقاية من الجلطة الدماغية.
  •  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

بطاقة بريدية

صمم بطاقة بريدية لإرسالها إلى أحد الأصدقاء أو أفراد العائلة عبر الإنترنت

Select an image

اختر صورة

Write note

اكتب ملاحظة

Email

ادخل البريد الالكتروني

أرسل بطاقة بريدية

شارك برأيك