back
Museums

OverView

Gallery

Did You Know

Take a tour

Location details

Art Then and Now

LISTEN TO THIS PAGE
The museum provides a historical narrative of art from prehistoric times to the present in a manner that illustrates the shared human experience 
Developed jointly by the United Arab Emirates and France, Louvre Abu Dhabi presents a historical narrative of art that spans the entire history of civilization and emphasises the shared human experience.


Opened in November 2017 on Saadiyat Island in a building designed by notable architect Jean Nouvel, the museum’s 23 permanent galleries depict a wide range of cultures, traditions and epochs in a unique side-by-side presentation. This enables visitors to discover shared influences and intriguing connections between different cultures.


The museum also features special exhibition spaces, a Children’s Museum, an auditorium, restaurants, retail shops and a research centre. 
DSC_0806

Architecture

Virtually surrounded by the sea, the dozens of buildings that comprise the museum are linked by waterfront promenades and by the museum’s most arresting feature, its dome.
The huge, 180-metre-wide dome is comprised of eight layers and appears to float above the museum complex. As sunlight filters through the dome’s perforations, it creates a ‘rain of light’ effect in the museum galleries below.
 

Notable artworks

The museum collection includes a number of significant works, including one of the finest examples of a standing Bactrian Princess from approximately 2000 BCE, a 3,000-year-old Middle-Eastern gold bracelet with lion's head and an 1878 painting by Osman Hamdi Bey titled 'A Young Emir Studying'.
Other important works include Paul Gauguin’s masterpiece ‘Children Wrestling’, the René Magritte painting ‘The Subjugated Reader’, a 1928 collage by Picasso titled ‘Portrait of a Lady’,  nine canvases by contemporary artist Cy Twombly and the most ancient known photographic representation of a veiled woman.

Did You Know?

Louvre Abu Dhabi is designed as a ‘museum city’ featuring 55 detached buildings inspired by the architecture of traditional Emirati houses.

Take a tour 

Floorplan

360 walkthrough

Louvre Abu Dhabi

3600

Start

Location details

Address

Saadiyat Cultural District,

Saadiyat Island - Abu Dhabi

Open Hours

Sat/Sun/Tues/Wed 10am-8pm
Thurs/Fri 10am-10pm. 
Closed on Mondays

Events

Go to calendar

POSTCARD

Craft a postcard to send to a friend or family member, online or through the post.

Select an image

SELECT AN IMAGE

Write note

WRITE A NOTE

Email

ENTER EMAIL/ POSTAL ADDRESS

Send A postcard

HAVE YOUR SAY

الى الخلف
متاحف

نظرة عامة

الصور

هل تعلم

خذ جولة

تفاصيل الموقع

اللوفر أبوظبي - الفن عبر العصور

يقدم هذا المتحف العالمي في أبوظبي سرداً تاريخياً للفن منذ عصور ما قبل التاريخ حتى وقتنا الحاضر، بطريقة تكشف التجربة الإنسانية المشتركة.
جاء اللوفر أبوظبي، الذي صممه المعماري جان نوفيل، ثمرة التعاون بين دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة وفرنسا، ليقدم سرداً تاريخياً للفن الذي يفتح أبواب الحضارة البشرية على مصراعيها، ويبرز أهمية التجربة الإنسانية المشتركة.
افتتح اللوفر أبوظبي أبوابه في نوفمبر 2017 في جزيرة السعديات بصالات عرض دائمة يبلغ عددها 23 صالة تعرض مجموعة واسعة من الثقافات والحضارات والعصور التاريخية ضمن أسلوب فريد. تتيح طريقة العرض هذه للزوار اكتشاف التأثيرات المشتركة والروابط الفريدة بين الثقافات المختلفة.

التصميم المعماري

يقع اللوفر أبوظبي على الخليج العربي وتتصل مجموعة المباني مع بعضها البعض والتي تشكل مجمل المتحف عبر ممشى متنزه يطل على واجهات بحرية من كل جوانبه، فضلاً عن قبة تضفي تميزاً وفرادة على تصميم المتحف.
تتكوّن القبة الضخمة التي يبلغ عرضها 180 متراً من ثماني طبقات معدنية متكررة ضمن نسيج متداخل بشكل نجوم هندسية لتبدو وكأنها تطفو فوق مجموعة مباني المتحف التي تتلقى أشعة الشمس برقة وانسيابية عبر فتحات القبة، لتكوّن تأثيراً من "شعاع النور" في جميع أرجاء المتحف.


الأعمال الفنية البارزة

تضم مجموعة معروضات المتحف عدداً من الأعمال الفنية البارزة، وأفضل مثال عليها هو تمثال "أميرة باختريا" الذي يعود تاريخه إلى حوالي 2000 عام قبل الميلاد، إضافة إلى سوار ذهبي من الشرق الأوسط عمره 3000 عام على شكل رأس أسد، ولوحة للفنان عثمان حمدي بيك تعود للعام 1878 تحمل عنوان "أمير شاب منكب على الدراسة".
من الأعمال المهمة الأخرى رائعة بول غوغان "فتيان يتصارعان"، ولوحة رينيه ماغريت "القارئة الخاضعة"، لوحة لبيكاسو تعود لعام 1928 بعنوان "صورة شخصية لامرأة"، وتسع لوحات زيتية على قماش الكانفاس للفنّان المعاصر سي تومبلي، بالإضافة إلى أقدم صورة فوتوغرافية معروفة لامرأة محجبة.

هل تعلم؟

أن اللوفر أبوظبي يحمل تصميمه مفهوم "مدينة المتحف"، حيث يضم 55 مبنى استُلهمت تصميماتها من المنازل الإماراتية التقليدية.

خذ جولة

المخطط التوضيحي

360 جولة

اللوفر أبوظبي

3600

ابدأ

تفاصيل الموقع

العنوان

المنطقة الثقافية في السعديات
جزيرة السعديات، أبوظبي

ساعات العمل

أيام السبت/ الأحد/ الثلاثاء/ الأربعاء
من 10:00 صباحاً إلى 8:00 مساءً
الخميس - الجمعة

بطاقة بريدية 

صمم بطاقة بريدية لإرسالها إلى أحد الأصدقاء أو أفراد العائلة عبر الإنترنت

Select an image

اختر صورة

Write note

اكتب ملاحظة

Email

ادخل البريد الالكتروني

أرسل بطاقة بريدية

شارك برأيك