back
Libraries

OverView

Gallery

Did You Know

Location Details

House of Knowledge

LISTEN TO THIS PAGE
Committed to collecting, preserving and promoting books, reading, writing and research in the UAE and wider Arab world
Established in 1981, the National Library houses the UAE’s largest collection of books, manuscripts, other documents and digital knowledge resources. It also promotes a culture of reading and writing in the UAE, and is an important resource for researchers and academics.


The National Library contains more than 389,267 titles, over 1,700 manuscripts, and more than 30,000 rare books and texts. The collection covers many languages, but principally Arabic and English. 


With more than 15 active collections, the library addresses all the needs of its visitors, from children using neighbourhood branches to international researchers looking for highly specialised titles. Collections range from Law and Policy, Language and Literature and Do It Yourself to ; Science, Religion and Philosophy, Performing Arts and Sports.


The entire catalogue of National Library titles can be searched via the online catalogue. This is particularly beneficial to academics and researchers conducting work that is focused on the United Arab Emirates, the Gulf region and the wider Arab world.

Acquisitions

The National Library continually expands its catalogue and subject-matter collections to provide through the direct purchase of titles, exchanges with other libraries and ‘gifting.’
Gifted titles are those publications that cannot be purchase but are provided to the National Library. These documents are most often from academic, research and government entities and can include government agency statistical publications, annual reports, parliamentary minutes and national bibliographies. 
The library also works with local and international universities, scientific research centres and cultural institution to acquire their publications as part of the gifting programme.
 

Manuscript Collection

The library also collects and preserves ancient Arab and Islamic manuscripts that address topics such as literature, religion, science and the arts. These include a large number of rare handwritten volumes written in a wide range of traditional Arabic scripts. These script varieties include Al Naskh, Maghrabi, Andalusian and Persian. 
The collection also includes more than 25,000 microfilm and 40,000 microfiche titles, including collections from the Juma Majed Cultural and Heritage Centre and the British Museum.
 

Community Activities

The National Library operates a growing number of community libraries in neighbourhoods across Abu Dhabi emirate. These branches host programmes such as mother and child pre-school activities, children’s story-time sessions, workshops to develop children's reading skills, book signings and art displays.
Professional outreach programmes include training sessions and workshops for government and private school librarians. 
 

Initiatives and Programmes

The National Library hosts festivals such as the Abu Dhabi International Book Fair and the Al Ain Book Fair, and awards programmes such as the Sheikh Zayed Book Award to build awareness and interest in reading and writing among the UAE population and the wider Arabic-speaking world. 
The organisation also publishes original works in Arabic, as well as foreign books translated into Arabic through programmes such as Kalima and Esdarat, and supports Emirati authors through the Qalam initiative.
For more information on National library click here.

Did You Know?

The National Library’s collection of handwritten manuscripts is primarily written in the Arabic, Farsi, Ottoman Turkish and Urdu languages.

Location Details

address

Street # 79 - Abu Dhabi

Contact information

Postcard

Craft a postcard to send to a friend or family member, online or through the post.

Select an image

SELECT AN IMAGE

Write note

WRITE A NOTE

Email

ENTER EMAIL/ POSTAL ADDRESS

Send A postcard

HAVE YOUR SAY

الى الخلف
مكتبات
detail banner

المكتبة الوطنية

نظرة عامة

الصور

هل تعلم

تفاصيل الموقع

صرح المعرفة

استمع للصفحة
تتولى دار الكتب الوطنية مسؤولية جمع وحفظ وعرض الكتب والمخطوطات للتشجيع على القراءة والكتابة والبحث في الإمارات العربية المتحدة وجميع أنحاء العالم العربي.
تضم دار الكتب الوطنية التي تأسست عام 1981 أكبر مجموعة من الكتب والمخطوطات والوثائق وموارد المعرفة الرقمية في الإمارات العربية المتحدة. وتساهم في تعزيز ثقافة القراءة والكتابة داخل الدولة، فضلاً عن كونها مصدراً هاماً للباحثين والأكاديميين.

تضم الدار أكثر من 389267 كتاباً، وما يزيد على 1700 مخطوطةٍ و 30000 كتاب ونص نادر. كما تشمل المجموعة العديد من اللغات، على رأسها العربية والإنجليزية.

تلبي الدار، عبر مجموعة تغطي أكثر من 15 مجالاً من المجالات المختلفة، جميع احتياجات الزوار بداية من الصغار ممن يستعينون بالفروع المجاورة لهم وحتى العلماء الذين يبحثون عن كتب متخصصة ونادرة. تتنوع المجالات التي تغطيها الدار ما بين القانون والسياسة واللغة والأدب والعلوم والدين والفلسفة وفنون الأداء والرياضة.

يمكن البحث عن جميع الكتب عبر القائمة الإلكترونية التي تفيد الزوار كثيراً خاصة الأكاديميين والباحثين ممن تركز أعمالهم على دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة ومنطقة الخليج، والعالم العربي

المقتنيات

تعمل دار الكتب الوطنية دائماً على توسيع نطاق قائمتها ومجموعاتها المتخصصة عن طريق شراء الكتب والتعاون مع المكتبات الأخرى لتبادل الكتب وإهدائها.
تتمثل الكتب المهداة في المطبوعات التي لا يمكن شراؤها، ولكن يتم تقديمها إلى المكتبة الوطنية. وغالباً ما تمنح المؤسسات الأكاديمية والبحثية والحكومية هذه الوثائق التي قد تشمل الإحصائيات الرسمية والتقارير السنوية ومحاضر الاجتماعات البرلمانية والمراجع الوطنية الصادرة عن الهيئات الحكومية. تتعاون الدار مع الجامعات المحلية والدولية ومراكز البحث العلمي والمؤسسات الثقافية بهدف اقتناء إصداراتهم كجزءٍ من برنامج الإهداء.

مجموعة المخطوطات

تتولى دار الكتب أيضاً مسؤولية جمع وحفظ المخطوطات العربية والإسلامية القديمة التي تغطي موضوعات متنوعة في مختلف مجالات الأدب والدين والعلوم والفنون. وتشمل هذه المخطوطات عدداً كبيراً من المجلدات النادرة المكتوبة بخط اليد والمدونة في مجموعة كبيرة من المخطوطات العربية القديمة بخطوط النسخ والمغربي والأندلسي والفارسي.
علاوة على ذلك، تضم الدار أكثر من 25000 مادة مصورة و40000 كتاب مصور، بما في ذلك المجموعات المأخوذة من مركز جمعة الماجد للثقافة والتراث والمتحف البريطاني.

الأنشطة المجتمعية

تدير دار الكتب الوطنية عدداً كبيراً من المكتبات المجتمعية المنتشرة في أحياء إمارة أبوظبي. وتستضيف هذه الفروع برامج كثيرة، مثل: أنشطة ما قبل المدرسة للأم والطفل، وجلسات قصص للأطفال، وورش العمل المتخصصة في تنمية مهارات القراءة لدى الأطفال، وحفلات توقيع الكتب، والعروض الفنية.
تشمل برامج التوعية المهنية جلسات تدريبية وورش عمل لأمناء المكتبات الحكومية والمدارس الخاصة.

المبادرات والبرامج

تستضيف دار الكتب الوطنية العديد من المهرجانات، مثل: معرض أبوظبي الدولي للكتاب ومعرض العين للكتاب وبرامج الجوائز، مثل جائزة الشيخ زايد للكتاب التي تهدف إلى نشر التوعية والاهتمام بالقراءة والكتابة بين سكان الإمارات العربية المتحدة والعالم العربي.
تصدر الدار أيضاً أعمالاً أصلية باللغة العربية والأجنبية المترجمة إلى اللغة العربية من خلال عدة برامج مثل برنامج كلمة وإصدارات، بالإضافة إلى دعمها للمؤلفين الإماراتيين عبر مبادرة قلم.
لمزيد من المعلومات عن المكتبة الوطنية انقر هنا.

هل تعلم؟

مجموعة المخطوطات في دار الكتب الوطنية مكتوبة في الأساس باللغات العربية والفارسية والتركية العثمانية والأردية.

تفاصيل الموقع

العنوان

شارع رقم 79 - أبوظبي

معلومات للإتصال

بطاقة بريدية

صمم بطاقة بريدية لإرسالها إلى أحد الأصدقاء أو أفراد العائلة عبر الإنترنت

Select an image

اختر صورة

Write note

اكتب ملاحظة

Email

ادخل البريد الالكتروني

أرسل بطاقة بريدية

شارك برأيك