back
Historic Landmarks

Overview

Timeline

Gallery

Did You Know

Take a Tour

Location Details

Fort and Birthplace

LISTEN TO THIS PAGE
For more than 100 years, this fort in Al Ain has played a major role in the history of the United Arab Emirates and today offers visitors an opportunity to understand its story
Located at the western approach to Al Ain city, Qasr Al Muwaiji has played an important role in the history of the United Arab Emirates and represents a fine example of early 20th century mud-brick architecture.

 

Qasr Al Muwaiji was built in the time of Sheikh Zayed bin Khalifa the First (r. 1855-1909) by his son, Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed bin Khalifa. Later it became the home and administrative base for the late Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan, when in 1946 he became the Ruler’s Representative in the Al Ain Region.  

 

His eldest son, His Highness Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan, was born at Qasr Al Muwaiji two years later, and spent much of his youth there, learning from his father.
Qasr Al Muwaiji- Fort- Thumbnail

The Fort

The building has always presented a simple but striking form: a square enclosure with projecting corner towers and a grand entrance gate. It was used as a diwan (a council or seat of governance) and as a place for the community to congregate.
Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan made many additions to the fort, reflecting its growing importance as the place of government in the region and the location for discussions, reception of visitors, deliberations and decision making. He added new diwan buildings and kitchens, and expanded guest accommodations to address the increasing number of visitors.
The fort’s mosque also was enlarged, and Qasr Al Muwaiji’s significance as a focus for the community increased as people came there to gather, pray and celebrate. When Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan al Nahyan became Ruler of Abu Dhabi in 1966, both he and his son, His Highness Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan, moved to Abu Dhabi. Beginning in the 1970s, the compound underwent several phases of restoration, culminating in a major regeneration project that has again made Qasr Al Muwaiji an important public space in Al Ain.
 

The Exhibition

An exhibition hall, housed in a glass-walled space within the courtyard of Qasr Al Muwaiji, has been built to tell the story of the fort and its inhabitants, with a focus on His Highness Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan, President of the United Arab Emirates.
The exhibition sets out the chronology of the members of Abu Dhabi’s ruling family with a connection to Qasr Al Muwaiji, but above all, it highlights the accomplishments of His Highness Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan. The exhibit also traces the history of Qasr Al Muwaiji, from the earliest archaeological evidence through to today, and includes its role in hosting visiting travellers. The displays also explain the importance of water to life in Al Ain and its oases, including nearby Muwaiji Oasis.
 

The Oasis

The Al Muwaiji Oasis is the smallest oasis in Al Ain and contains approximately 21,000 palm trees, as well as a falaj irrigation system that uses ground-level and underground water canals to bring water from the nearby mountains. Even the grounds of the fort have been used over the years for date palm cultivation.

Timeline

1897-2015

1897

Earliest evidence for the date of Qasr Al Muwaiji’s construction, from a coin excavated on the site.

1897

1928

Qasr al Muwaiji is used to distribute aid under Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed bin Khalifa during the economic depression.

1928

1946

Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan is appointed Ruler’s Representative in Al Ain. He establishes his family home and official diwan at Qasr al Muwaiji.

1946

1948

HH Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan is born at Qasr Al Muwaiji, the eldest son of Sheikh Zayed and Sheikha Hassa.

1948

1950s

Sheikh Zayed orders the expansion of Qasr al Muwaiji.

1950s

1966

Sheikh Zayed becomes Ruler of Abu Dhabi and appoints his son, HH Sheikh Khalifa as Ruler’s Representative in Al Ain. They both move to Abu Dhabi.

1966

Late 1970s

First phase of restoration work is begun at Qasr al Muwaiji.

Late 1970s

2009

Extensive archaeological excavations and conservation work begins at Qasr al Muwaiji.

2009

2015

 Qasr al Muwaiji opens to the public.

2015

|

Did You Know?

Archaeological work has unearthed traces of agricultural activity near the fort from as far back as the 18th century.

Take a tour 

Floorplan

360 walkthrough

Qasr Al Muwaiji

3600

Start

Location Details

Address

Khalifa bin Zayed Street,

opposite Ruler's Representative Court

Open Hours

Daily 9am to 7pm,

Except Monday (closed),

Friday -3pm to 7pm.

Events

Go to calendar

Postcard

Craft a postcard to send to a friend or family member, online or through the post.

Select an image

SELECT AN IMAGE

Write note

WRITE A NOTE

Email

ENTER EMAIL/ POSTAL ADDRESS

Send A postcard

HAVE YOUR SAY

الى الخلف
المعالم التاريخية

نظرة عامة

محطات تاريخية

الصور

هل تعلم

خذ جولة

تفاصيل الموقع

قصر المويجعي

استمع للصفحة
منذ أكثر من 100 عام، كان لقصر المويجعي دورٌ مهمٌ في تاريخ الدولة، واليوم يفتح القصر أبوابه للزوار للتعرف على أحد الشواهد العريقة في تاريخ دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة.
شهد قصر المويجعي، الكائن في الجهة الغربية لمدخل العين، مرحلة مهمة في تاريخ دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، ويمثل بناؤه نموذجاً راقياً لفن العمارة التي كانت تعتمد على البناء بالطوب اللبن مطلع القرن العشرين.

شُيد قصر المويجعي في عهد الشيخ زايد بن خليفة آل نهيان (زايد الأول) (1855-1909) وابنه الشيخ خليفة بن زايد بن خليفة. وبعد تولي المغفور له بإذن الله، الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان، طيب الله ثراه، الوالد المؤسس لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، منصب ممثل الحاكم عام 1946 في منطقة العين، انتقل للإقامة في قصر المويجعي ليصبح بيتاً لعائلته ومقراً لحكمه.

بعد انتقال الشيخ زايد وأسرته إلى القصر بعامين، تشرّف قصر المويجعي بولادة ابنه البكر صاحب السمو الشيخ خليفة بن زايد آل نهيان، رئيس الدولة حاكم أبوظبي، حفظه الله، حيث أمضى صاحب السمو الشيخ خليفة أكثر أيام الصِبَا في هذا القصر ينهل من فكر والده ورؤيته الثاقبة، ويتعلم منه الحكمة والقيادة السليمة.

عزز تجربة زيارتك عبر معرفة المزيد حول قصر المويجعي وتاريخه العريق.

دليل الوسائط المتعددة لقصر المويجعي


القلعة

رغم بساطة مبنى القلعة إلا أنه يبقى ملفتاً للنظر، إذ ترى فناءً داخلياً متسع المساحة يطوقه هيكل المبنى مربع الشكل، مع أبراج بارزة في أركانه، وبوابة ضخمة، كما كان يُستخدم كديوان (مجلس أو مقر الحكم) ومقصداً لاجتماع الناس.

أدخل المغفور له بإذن الله الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان، طيب الله ثراه، الكثير من الإضافات إلى القلعة، الأمر الذي أكد أهميتها المتزايدة كمقر رئيسي للحكم في المنطقة ومجلس للمناقشات، ومكان لاستقبال الزوّار، ومركز للشورى واتخاذ القرار، كما أمر بإنشاء مبانٍ جديدة للديوان ومطابخ جديدة، وأمر بتوسيع غرف الضيوف حتى تستوعب الأعداد المتزايدة من الزوّار.

شهد أيضاً مسجد القلعة توسعة مع ازدياد أهمية قصر المويجعي كمركز تتمحور حوله أنشطة المجتمع، حيث تزايد عدد الناس الذين يفدون إليه للاجتماع والصلاة والاحتفال. وعندما تولى المغفور له بإذن الله الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان، طيب الله ثراه، إمارة أبوظبي في 1966، انتقل مع ابنه صاحب السمو الشيخ خليفة بن زايد آل نهيان، حفظه الله، إلى أبوظبي. وفي مطلع سبعينيات القرن العشرين، خضع هذا الصرح لمراحل ترميم مختلفة تُوجت بمشروع تجديد ضخم ساهم في عودة قصر المويجعي إلى سابق عهده كمقصد عام للزوار في العين.

المعرض

أقيمت قاعة المعرض في فناء قصر المويجعي وهي مُحاطة بجدران زجاجية تحكي قصة القلعة وسكانها، ويحتفي المعرض بصاحب السمو الشيخ خليفة بن زايد آل نهيان، رئيس الدولة حاكم أبوظبي، حفظه الله.

يُقدم المعرض تسلسلاً زمنياً لحياة أفراد العائلة الحاكمة لأبوظبي وعلاقتهم بقصر المويجعي، لكنه يركز في المقام الأول على إنجازات صاحب السمو الشيخ خليفة بن زايد آل نهيان. كما يحكي المعرض تاريخ قصر المويجعي بداية من الأدلة الأثرية حتى اليوم، مروراً بدوره في استضافة الرحّالة والزوّار. يوضح المعرض أيضاً أهمية المياه في العين وواحاتها، بما فيها واحة المويجعي القريبة من القصر.

الواحة

واحة المويجعي هي من أصغر واحات العين، وتحتوي على حوالي 21000 نخلة تمر، وتشتهر بنظام الري بالأفلاج الذي يعتمد على المياه الجوفية وتحت مستوى سطح الأرض والتي تأتي من الجبال المجاورة. وعلى مر السنين، تم استصلاح أراضي القلعة لزراعة أشجار نخيل التمر.

محطات تاريخية

1897–2015

1897

الأدلة الأولى عن تاريخ قصر المويجعي من واقع عملة معدنية تم اكتشافها في الموقع.

1897

1928

كان قصر المويجعي مقراً لتوزيع المساعدات بأمر من الشيخ خليفة بن زايد بن خليفة آل نهيان خلال فترة الكساد الاقتصادي.

1928

1946

جرى تعيين المغفور له بإذن الله، الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان، طيب اللَّه ثراه، ممثلاً للحاكم في العين. فأسس الشيخ زايد في قصر المويجعي منزلاً لعائلته وديواناً رسمياً له.

1946

1948

ميلاد صاحب السمو الشيخ خليفة بن زايد آل نهيان في قصر المويجعي، هو الابن البكر للشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان والشيخة حصة بنت محمد بن خليفة آل نهيان.

1948

خمسينيات القرن العشرين

أصدر الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان أوامره بتوسيع قصر المويجعي.

خمسينيات القرن العشرين

1966

أصبح الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان حاكماً لإمارة أبوظبي، وعيّن ابنه صاحب السمو الشيخ خليفة بن زايد آل نهيان ممثلاً للحاكم في العين. انتقل بعدها الشيخ زايد وابنه الشيخ خليفة إلى أبوظبي.

1966

أواخر سبعينيات القرن العشرين

بداية المرحلة الأولى من أعمال ترميم قصر المويجعي

أواخر سبعينيات القرن العشرين

2009

بدء أعمال التنقيب عن الآثار وأعمال الترميم والصيانة في قصر المويجعي.

2009

2015

افتتاح قصر المويجعي للجمهور.

2015

|

هل تعلم؟

أن أعمال التنقيب عن الآثار كشفت عن وجود بقايا لأنشطة زراعية بالقرب من القلعة تعود إلى القرن الثامن عشر.

خذ جولة

المخطط التوضيحي

جولة 360

قصر المويجعي

3600

ابدأ

تفاصيل الموقع

الموقع

شارع خليفة بن زايد،
مقابل ديوان ممثل الحاكم
العين

ساعات العمل

9 صباحاً – 7 مساءً

بطاقة بريدية

صمم بطاقة بريدية لإرسالها إلى أحد الأصدقاء أو أفراد العائلة عبر الإنترنت

Select an image

اختر صورة

Write note

اكتب ملاحظة

Email

ادخل البريد الالكتروني

أرسل بطاقة بريدية

شارك تعليقك