back
Heritage Festivals

OverView

Gallery

Did You Know

In Praise of Dates

LISTEN TO THIS PAGE
The festival celebrates an integral and authentic symbol of Emirati heritage 
The versatile date palm and the date fruit have played an important role in fulfilling the dietary needs of generations of desert communities, including those in the United Arab Emirates.  The fruit is highly nutritious, while the trunk, fronds and other parts of the tree were traditionally used in buildings, handicrafts and tools. The Liwa Date Festival highlights these and other important aspects of the date palm. 


Held in the Al Dhafra Region in western Abu Dhabi emirate, the Liwa Date Festival is an annual event that introduces date producers to modern agricultural practices and facilitates the exchange of expertise on the best ways to produce the highest quality date. 


The festival also is one of Abu Dhabi’s most significant heritage events and tourist attractions that highlights the many ways dates have impacted the cultural, heritage and economic life of the country. It provides a great place for visitors to learn about dates and to sample the most popular date varieties grown in the UAE.


The festival’s main event is the competition for the best date fruit.  Emirati farms vie for the title of best date grower. There also are date auctions, where dates can sell for over AED 6,000 (USD 1,650) per kilo; lectures on date farming; poetry evenings, and an exhibition space for date farming equipment and date products.

Did You Know ?

The selection process for the best date fruit competition involves judging thousands of baskets of Ratab (semi-ripe dates). 

Postcard

Craft a postcard to send to a friend or family member, online or through the post.

Select an image

SELECT AN IMAGE

Write note

WRITE A NOTE

Email

ENTER EMAIL/ POSTAL ADDRESS

Send A postcard

HAVE YOUR SAY

الى الخلف
فعاليات تراثية
detail banner

مهرجان ليوا للرطب

نظرة عامة

الصور

هل تعلم

الاحتفاء بالرطب

استمع للصفحة
يحتفي المهرجان بالرمز المتكامل والأصيل الذي يتميز به التراث الإماراتي
قامت شجرة النخيل والرطب بدور هام في تلبية الاحتياجات الغذائية للقبائل التي كانت تسكن الصحراء، بما في ذلك قبائل الإمارات العربية المتحدة. يتميز الرطب بقيمة غذائية عالية، بينما كانت الجذوع والجريد وأجزاء أخرى من النخيل تُستخدم قديماً في البناء والحِرف اليدوية وصناعة الأدوات. يسلط مهرجان ليوا للرطب الضوء على هذه الاستخدامات وغيرها من المزايا التي كانت تتميز بها شجرة النخيل.
يعد مهرجان ليوا للرطب، المُقام في منطقة الظفرة غرب إمارة أبوظبي، فعّالية سنوية تساعد المزارعين في التعرف على أساليب الزراعة الحديثة وتبادل الخبرات لإنتاج أفضل وأجود أنواع الرطب.
يعد المهرجان من أبرز الفعّاليات التراثية في أبوظبي ومن المقاصد السياحية التي تُسلط الضوء على مكانة الرطب في الحياة الثقافية والتراثية والاقتصادية للدولة، كما يعد مكاناً رائعاً يتعرف فيه الزوّار على الرطب والأصناف الأكثر شعبية التي تتم زراعتها في الإمارات العربية المتحدة.
تعتبر مسابقة مزاينة الرطب الفعّاليةَ الرئيسية في المهرجان، حيث تتنافس المزارع الإماراتية على لقب أفضل مزرعة للرطب. يشمل المهرجان أيضاً مزادات رطب يصل سعر الكيلو الواحد منها إلى أكثر من 6000 درهم (ما يعادل 1650 دولاراً أمريكياً)، بالإضافةً إلى محاضرات حول زراعة النخيل وأمسيات شعرية ومساحة مخصصة لعرض المعدات الزراعية للنخيل ومنتجات الرطب.

هل تعلم ؟

تشهد مسابقة مزاينة الرطب معاينة آلاف الأصناف من الرطب (تمور شبه ناضجة) لاختيار الفائز.

بطاقة بريدية

صمم بطاقة بريدية لإرسالها إلى أحد الأصدقاء أو أفراد العائلة عبر الإنترنت

Select an image

اختر صورة

Write note

اكتب ملاحظة

Email

ادخل البريد الالكتروني

أرسل بطاقة بريدية

شارك برأيك