back
Cultural Landscapes & Oases
detail banner

Sir Bani Yas Island

OverView

Gallery

Did You Know

Nature’s Marvels

LISTEN TO THIS PAGE
The island is home to important archaeological sites, dramatic geological formations and diverse wildlife
Sir Bani Yas Island is dotted with ancient archaeological sites, geological features and man-made attractions that make it a popular tourist destination in the Al Dhafra Region of Abu Dhabi.

Salt Domes

Sir Bani Yas Island is one of the largest of a group of many islands located along the Al Dhafra Region. The unique salt dome geology that leads to the creation of small mountains in the central area of the island are the remnants of a geological process that created outcrops of haematite and other rocks that rise above the surrounding terrain and sea.

Archaeological Heritage

Archaeologists have unearthed numerous discoveries, including the remains of a Christian church and monastery from the 7th and 8th centuries CE, and flint tools dating back to the Neolithic period (7,000 years ago). In addition, a trading settlement dating to the Bronze Age (4,000 years ago) was recently discovered on the island.
Sir Bani Yas Island was first mentioned in European literature around 1590 by Gasparo Balbi, an Italian jeweller and merchant, who referred to it as being located in a region where pearls were found. The tradition of pearling continued to be important until the early 20th century.

Wildlife Sanctuary

In 1971, the late Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan declared Sir Bani Yas Island a nature reserve that is now the Arabian Wildlife Park. Covering 1,400 hectares, the park is a sanctuary for thousands of free-roaming indigenous and exotic animals and birds, and home to animal breeding and relocation programmes.
Visitors enjoy the island’s isolated, white sand beaches, guided nature and wildlife tours, and visits to archaeological sites.

Did You Know ?

Sir Bani Yas Island got its name from the Bani Yas tribe who first inhabited Abu Dhabi.

Postcard

Craft a postcard to send to a friend or family member, online or through the post.

Select an image

SELECT AN IMAGE

Write note

WRITE A NOTE

Email

ENTER EMAIL/ POSTAL ADDRESS

Send A postcard

HAVE YOUR SAY

الى الخلف
جزر وواحات
detail banner

جزيرة صير بني ياس

نظرة عامة

الصور

هل تعلم

عجائب الطبيعة

استمع للصفحة
تُعتبر الجزيرة موطناً للمواقع الأثرية الهامة والتشكيلات الجيولوجية الهائلة والحياة البرية المتنوعة.
تتميز جزيرة صير بني ياس بكثرة المواقع الأثرية القديمة والخصائص الجيولوجية ومعالم الجذب التي صنعها الإنسان؛ مما جعلها من بين الوجهات السياحية في منطقة الظفرة الواقعة غرب أبوظبي.

القباب الملحية

تُعتبر صير بني ياس أكبر الجزر الطبيعية الثمانية الواقعة في منطقة الظفرة. وتُعد القباب الملحية المميزة التي تبدو كجبال صغيرة في وسط الجزيرة بقايا العملية الجيولوجية التي نتجت عنها نتوءات الملح الصخري المرتفعة فوق الأراضي والبحار المحيطة.

التراث الأثري

قام علماء الآثار بدور كبير في اكتشاف العديد من المعالم التراثية، من بينها بقايا الكنيسة والدير التي يعود تاريخها للفترة بين القرنين السابع والثامن الميلادي، والأدوات المصنوعة من حجر الصوان التي يعود تاريخها إلى العصر الحجري الحديث (منذ 7000 عام)، بالإضافة إلى المستعمرة التجارية التي تم اكتشافها حديثاً، ويعود تاريخها إلى العصر البرونزي (منذ 4000 عام).

وكان الصائغ والتاجر الإيطالي، كاسبارو بالبي، أول من أشار إلى جزيرة صير بني ياس في التاريخ الأوروبي عام 1590 تقريباً عندما اكتشف فيها الكثير من اللآلئ التي ظلت تمثل أهمية كبيرة حتى أوائل القرن العشرين باعتبارها من الحرف التقليدية في المنطقة.

محمية الحياة البرية

أعلن المغفور له بإذن الله، الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان، طيب اللَّه ثراه، عام 1971 جزيرة صير بني ياس محمية طبيعية، حيث أصبحت الآن منتزهاً للحياة البرية العربية. تُعتبر الحديقة التي تمتد على مساحة 1400 هكتار محمية لآلاف الحيوانات والطيور الجوّالة الأصيلة والغريبة ومقراً لبرامج تربية الحيوانات ونقلها.

يستمتع الزوار بشواطئ الرمال البيضاء المنعزلة في الجزيرة، والجولات الاستكشافية للطبيعة والحياة البرية، والرحلات إلى المواقع الأثرية.

هل تعلم ؟

أُطلِق على جزيرة صير بني ياس هذا الاسم نسبةً إلى قبيلة بني ياس أول من استوطن مدينة أبوظبي.

بطاقة بريدية 

صمم بطاقة بريدية لإرسالها إلى أحد الأصدقاء أو أفراد العائلة عبر الإنترنت

Select an image

اختر صورة

Write note

اكتب ملاحظة

Email

ادخل البريد الالكتروني

أرسل بطاقة بريدية

شارك برأيك