back
Cultural Landscapes & Oases

OverView

Did You Know

Centre of Pearl Trading

LISTEN TO THIS PAGE
Ancient settlement, pearl-trading centre, archaeological site and island habitat; Delma is a witness to history of the United Arab Emirates 
Offering bountiful underground fresh water, Delma Island was one of the earliest sites of human habitation in the United Arab Emirates. It also served as an important centre of pearl trading, helped quench Abu Dhabi city’s thirst for water in the early 20th century, and today is a vibrant fishing community.

Stone Age

The first human occupation of the island occurred approximately 7,000 years ago during the Later Stone Age, likely drawn by plentiful supplies of fresh water. Archaeological excavations have yielded significant finds, include pieces of Ubaid pottery, imported from Mesopotamia (modern-day Iraq), painted and plain plaster vessels, a limestone mortar, finely flaked stone tools and a variety of shell and stone beads.
Charred date stones (pits) dating back to the period between 5500 BCE and 4500 BCE, as well as fish and animal bones, shed light on the people’s diet and their ability to harvest the resources of both land and sea. The date stones represent some of the earliest evidence of the consumption of dates in the Arabian Peninsula.

Modern Times

The modern settlement of the town dates back several hundred years, while several existing historic buildings, including a house and three mosques, date to the first half of the 20th century. They reflect the island’s role as an important pearl-trading centre. During the height of the Gulf pearl trade in the 1880s and 1890s, its shoreline was lined with markets.
The island also was reputed to have had over 200 wells, and supplied water to Abu Dhabi until the 1950s.

Al Muraykhi House

The core of the historic town is the fortified home of pearl merchant Muhammad Bin Jasim Al Muraykhi. It dates from 1931 and is made of beach stone and coral, covered in gypsum plaster.
The Bayt Al Muraykhi, which today houses the Delma Museum, features two windowless strong rooms on the ground floor, and an upper storey reached by a wooden ladder. The upper floor features two terraces and a central reception room designed to impress visitors with moulded dogtooth relief decoration on the walls.
Numerous windows that are closed during summer days and opened at night, and a barjeel (a tower that catches breezes and funnels the air into rooms below) aided in ventilation during the hot summer.

Mosques

The three historic mosques on Delma Island feature a high level of craftsmanship in the plaster decoration of windows, columns, doors and ceiling cornices.
The Al Muraykhi Mosque was built between 1931 and 1946 of beach stone and coral covered in gypsum plaster.
Al Muhannadi Mosque, originally known as the Sa’id Ali Al Qubaysi Mosque, is the only one of the island’s three historic mosques where the Mihrab (niche in the wall indicating the direction of Mecca) incorporates a Minbar (platform where the imam addresses the congregation).
Al Dawsari Mosque, formerly known as Sa’id Jum’e Al Qubaysi Mosque has a flat roof on the prayer hall that is constructed of mangrove poles and palm matting, with woven reeds covered by gypsum plaster.

 

Fishing Village

Delma Island lies approximately 30 kilometres off the coast of Abu Dhabi. Measuring 9 kilometres from north to south and 5 kilometres east to west, it has a population of around 10,000, most of whom are fishermen or work on the island’s numerous farms. Surprisingly green, the island today has extensive vegetable fields and fruit orchards.

Did You Know ?

Like other similar mosques in the Gulf region, the three Delma mosques have no minarets.

Postcard

Craft a postcard to send to a friend or family member, online or through the post.

Select an image

SELECT AN IMAGE

Write note

WRITE A NOTE

Email

ENTER EMAIL/ POSTAL ADDRESS

Send A postcard

HAVE YOUR SAY

الى الخلف
جزر وواحات
detail banner

جزيرة دلما

نظرة عامة

هل تعلم

مركز تجارة اللؤلؤ

استمع للصفحة
تُعد جزيرة دلما إحدى المستوطنات القديمة ومركزاً لتجارة اللؤلؤ وموقعاً أثرياً، فضلاً عن كونها شاهدة على تاريخ دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة.
تعد جزيرة دلما الغنية بمياهها الجوفية العذبة أحد أقدم المواقع التي سكنها الإنسان في الإمارات. كما تُعتبر مركزاً مهماً لتجارة اللؤلؤ ومنبعاً رئيسياً مدّ إمارة أبوظبي بالمياه في أوائل القرن العشرين. وقد أصبحت اليوم من المجتمعات الكبيرة الشهيرة بصيد الأسماك.

العصر الحجري

يعود تاريخ أول موطئ لقدم بشرية على أرض الجزيرة إلى العصر الحجري القديم العلوي قبل حوالي 7000 سنة، والتي جذبتها على الأرجح وفرة المياه العذبة في المنطقة. وتشمل الحفريات الأثرية التي تم العثور عليها هناك أواني فخارية تعود لفترة العبيد، وكانت تُستورد من بلاد الرافدين (العراق حالياً) والأواني المطلية والجصية ذات اللون الواحد، والهاون المصنوع من الحجر الجيري، وأدوات تكسير الحجارة، ومجموعة متنوعة من الأصداف والخرز الحجري.
يعود تاريخ نَوى التمور المتفحمة إلى الفترة ما بين 5500 و4500 قبل الميلاد، بالإضافة إلى بعض أشواك السمك وعظام الحيوانات، حيث تؤكد هذه الأشياء التنوع الغذائي لسكان الجزيرة وقدرتهم على جمع موارد البر والبحر. وتُعتبر نوى التمر دليلاً على قِدَم استهلاك التمور في شبه الجزيرة العربية.

العصور الحديثة

يعود تاريخ المستوطنة الحديثة التي أقيمت في المدينة لمئات السنين، حيث يرجع تاريخ المباني التاريخية الموجودة التي تشمل منزلاً وثلاثة مساجد إلى النصف الأول من القرن العشرين. وتعكس هذه المباني دور الجزيرة كمركز مهم لتجارة اللؤلؤ. كما انتشر الكثير من الأسواق على طول ساحلها خلال فترة ازدهار تجارة اللؤلؤ في الفترة الممتدة بين ثمانينيات وتسعينيات القرن التاسع عشر.

وتشتهر الجزيرة أيضاً بوجود ما يزيد عن 200 بئر فيها، حيث ظلت تمُد إمارة أبوظبي بالمياه حتى خمسينيات القرن العشرين.

بيت المريخي

يقع بيت المريخي المنسوب لصاحبه، تاجر اللؤلؤ محمد بن جاسم المريخي، في قلب المدينة التاريخية. ويعود تاريخه إلى عام 1931، حيث تم بناؤه من أحجار الشاطئ والمرجان وتغطيته بالجص.

يضم بيت المريخي الذي يستضيف اليوم متحف دلما، غرفتين كبيرتين خاليتين من النوافذ وتقعان في الطابق الأرضي، بالإضافة إلى طابق علوي يمكن الوصول إليه عبر سلم خشبي. يتميز الطابق العلوي بوجود ردهتين وغرفة استقبال رئيسية مصممة لتبهر الزوار بجدرانها المزخرفة ونقوشها البارزة.
كما كان لهذه النوافذ التي تُغلَق في أيام الصيف، وتُفتَح في المساء بجانب البرجيل (برج يجذب النسيم ويُمرِّر الهواء إلى الغرف الواقعة أسفلها) دور في تهوية البيت خلال أيام الصيف الحارة.

المساجد

تتميز المساجد الثلاثة الموجودة في جزيرة دلما بمستوى عالٍ من الحرفية والبراعة في تصميم الزخارف الجصية الموجودة على النوافذ والأعمدة والأبواب وأفاريز الأسقف.

بُني بيت المريخي في الفترة ما بين 1931 و 1946 من أحجار الشواطئ والمرجان المغطّى بالجص.

يُعتبر مسجد المهندي المعروف باسم "مسجد سعيد علي القبيسي" الوحيد من بين مساجد الجزيرة الذي يجمع بين المحراب (نتوء في منتصف الجدار المواجه للقبلة) والمنبر (مكان مرتفع في المسجد يقف عليه الإمام لإلقاء الخطبة).

يتميز مسجد الدوسري والذي كان يُعرف سابقاً باسم "مسجد سعيد جمعة القبيسي" بمُصلى ذي سطح مستوِ شُيّد من أخشاب شجر المانغروف وجرائد النخيل مع القصب المحبوك المغطى بالجص.

قرية الصيد

تقع جزيرة دلما على بعد حوالي 30 كيلومتراً من ساحل أبوظبي، حيث تمتد ل 9 كم من الشمال إلى الجنوب، و5 كم من الشرق إلى الغرب، ويصل عدد سكانها إلى ما يقرب من 10000 نسمة معظمهم من الصيادين أو ممن يعملون في مزارع الجزيرة الكثيرة. وعلى غير المتوقع، نجد الجزيرة الخضراء اليوم ممتلئة بمزارع الخضروات وبساتين الفواكه.

هل تعلم ؟

لا توجد في مساجد دلما الثلاثة أيّة مآذن، على غرار المساجد الأخرى في منطقة الخليج.

بطاقة بريدية

صمم بطاقة بريدية لإرسالها إلى أحد الأصدقاء أو أفراد العائلة عبر الإنترنت

Select an image

اختر صورة

Write note

اكتب ملاحظة

Email

ادخل البريد الالكتروني

أرسل بطاقة بريدية

شارك برأيك