back
Traditions

Overview

Gallery

Did you know

Resources

Majlis – a cultural and social place

LISTEN TO THIS PAGE
Majlis was inscribed in 2015 on the UNESCO Representative List of the Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity
The traditional Majlis forum provides Emiratis with an opportunity to debate, deliberate and share information about the issues of the day.

The Emirati Majlis (‘council’ or ‘assembly’) has been an essential part of social and political life in the United Arab Emirates, serving as a forum for the community to discuss issues and to raise important matters with elders and the Sheikhs. Merchants and legal experts also held majalis (plural of Majlis). Because of the significance of the Majlis, the United Arab Emirates, Oman, Qatar and Saudi Arabia applied to inscribe it on the UNESCO Representative List of the Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity and it was listed in 2015.

The term Majlis has been adopted by modern governments to refer to both elected and unelected advisory and decision-making bodies, including legislatures and councils of ministers.

Majalis run by elders, chieftains and sheikhs are called barza, and the Majlis host is said to be barez (prominent) when he is presiding at his Majlis. During such majalis, the host hears complaints, demands and other issues of the people and seeks to resolve them. The atmosphere is one of constructive dialogue, defined by honesty, openness, freedom and ingenuity. Guesthouse or Majlis owners are responsible for all hospitality expenses, although in some cases tribe members will contribute as well.

Types of majalis

In addition to the barza, traditionally there were two other types of majalis in the United Arab Emirates: the Majlis of the Merchants and the Majlis of Justice.

The Majlis of the Merchants was open to all, but especially pearl divers, as they provided a way of raising funds for their journeys and to ensure that their families would receive basic foodstuffs such as rice, flour and coffee. This type was busy during the pearling season, especially near the end, when pearl prices were negotiated.

During the diving season, the Majlis was used as a platform to share stories about incidents at sea, as well as a space to address disputes among divers or between divers and traders. Storytelling, poetry recitals and other forms of entertainment also took place at these sessions.

The Majlis of Justice specialised in dispensing Shari'a judgments and often dealt with cases passed up from barza and merchants’ majalis. A Justice Majlis was recognised not only for settling disputes, but also for providing education on religious topics to attendees. The sessions traditionally opened from early morning until noon prayer, and then between the afternoon and sunset prayers.

The Majlis and nature

Majalis were held either in a bait al-she’r (house of hair) or in open-air settings, around fires, with coffee served to attendees. Majalis in cities and towns along the coast were often constructed of plaster and mud, arbour and bower, or simple canvas to provide shade. Majalis in mountain areas were held in special guesthouses or other gathering places.

Learn more about Majlis in the PDF below.

Download pdf

Did You Know?

For pearl divers and sailors at sea, a boat could serve as a location for a Majlis, where those on board would discuss topics such as ships, fishing, diving and hardships at sea.

Postcard

Craft a postcard to send to a friend or family member, online or through the post.

Select an image

SELECT AN IMAGE

Write note

WRITE A NOTE

Email

ENTER EMAIL/ POSTAL ADDRESS

Send A postcard

HAVE YOUR SAY

الى الخلف
العادات والتقاليد

نظرة عامة

الصور

هل تعلم

الموارد

المجلس - الملتقى الثقافي الاجتماعي

استمع للصفحة
أُدرِج المجلس عام 2015 ضمن القائمة التمثيلية للتراث الثقافي غير المادي للبشرية في اليونسكو.
يتيح منتدى المجلس التقليدي للمواطنين فرصة الحوار والنقاش وتداول المعلومات وتبادلها حول القضايا اليومية.

يمثل المجلس الإماراتي جزءاً مهماً في حياة الإماراتيين الاجتماعية والسياسية لأنه بمثابة منتدى يجمع أفراد المجتمع المحلي مع الشيوخ وكبار القوم لمناقشة القضايا المتنوعة والشؤون اليومية التي تطرأ على دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، كما كان للتجار وخبراء الشرع مجالسهم الخاصة بهم. نظراً للأهمية الكبيرة التي يمثلها المجلس في حياة أفراد المجتمع، فقد قامت دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة وعُمان وقطر والسعودية بالتقدم بطلب إلى اليونسكو لإدراجه ضمن القائمة التمثيلية للتراث الثقافي غير المادي للبشرية، وتم الإدراج عام 2015.

اعتمدت الحكومات المعاصرة مصطلح "المجلس" للإشارة إلى الهيئات الاستشارية المنتخبة، وغير المنتخبة، ومؤسسات صنع القرار، مثل المجالس التشريعية، ومجالس الوزراء.

يُطلق على المجلس الذي يديره الشيوخ والوجهاء وكبار القوم اسم البَرْزة، ويُسمَّى مُضيف المجلس "البارز" (أي المُبَجَّل)، عندما يرأس المجلس. وأثناء هذه المجالس، يسمع المضيف الشكاوى والمطالب وغيرها من أمور الناس ويسعى لحلها. يغلب على الموضوعات التي يتم طرحها في المجلس طابع الحوار البنّاء الذي يتسم بالصدق والصراحة والحرية وبراعة الحوار والحلول. يتحمل أصحاب البرزة أو المجلس جميع نفقات الضيافة، وقد يساهم أفراد القبيلة في تحمل جزء منها.

أنواع المجالس

إضافة إلى مجالس البرْزة، هناك نوعان آخران من المجالس التقليدية في دولة الإمارات: مجلس التجار ومجلس العدل.

مجلس التجار مفتوح عادة للجميع، لا سيما لغواصي اللؤلؤ، حيث يتم الترتيب لجمع التمويل اللازم لرحلات الغوص، وتوفير المواد الغذائية كالأرز، والدقيق، والقهوة لأسر غواصي اللؤلؤ أثناء غيابهم. غالباً ما تكون مجالس التجار مزدحمة في موسم صيد اللؤلؤ خاصة قرب انتهاء الموسم عندما يحين التفاوض حول أسعار اللؤلؤ.

أثناء موسم الغوص، يشكل المجلس منصة يتشارك الغواصون من خلالها ما جرى من أحداث وقصص أثناء وجود الغواصين في البحر، كما يمثل المجلس مساحة حوار لمناقشة ما يطرأ من منازعات بين الغواصين فيما بينهم أو الغواصين والتجار. تتم أثناء المجلس أيضاً رواية الحكايات وإلقاء الأشعار، وغير ذلك من أشكال الترفيه.

يتولى مجلس العدل إصدار الأحكام الشرعية في المنازعات المنظورة، وغالباً ما يتعامل مع ما يمرره إليه مجلس البَرزة ومجلس التجار من منازعات. مجلس العدل معتمدٌ لتسوية النزاعات وأيضاً لتقديم جرعات التثقيف لحاضريه حول الموضوعات الدينية. وجرت العادة على عقد جلسات مجالس العدل من الصباح الباكر حتى صلاة الظهر، ثم ما بين صلاتي العصر والمغرب.

المجالس والطبيعة

كانت تُعقد المجالس إما في بيوت الشعر (خيام تُحاك من شعر الماعز ووبر الإبل وصوف الغنم)، أو في الهواء الطلق حول موقد من النار، مع تقديم القهوة العربية. أما في المدن والمحاضر بطول الساحل، فكانت المجالس تُعقد في بيوت مشيدة من الطين والجص، أو تحت عريش مغطى بالنباتات وخشب الشجر، أو بقماش بسيط لتوفير مساحة من الظل للجالسين. بينما عُقدت المجالس في المناطق الجبلية في دور ضيافة خاصة أو أماكن تجمع أخرى.

يمكنك الاطلاع على المزيد من المعلومات حول المجلس في الملف PDF أدناه.

تحميل المرفق

هل تعلم ؟

أن مجلس غواصي اللؤلؤ والبحّارة كان يتم عقده أحياناً داخل القارب، حيث يدور النقاش حول السفن والصيد والغوص ومصاعب ركوب البحر.

بطاقة بريدية

صمم بطاقة بريدية لإرسالها إلى أحد الأصدقاء أو أفراد العائلة عبر الإنترنت

Select an image

اختر صورة

Write note

اكتب ملاحظة

Email

ادخل البريد الالكتروني

أرسل بطاقة بريدية

شارك برأيك