back
Performances

Overview

Gallery

Did you know

Featured Articles

Poetry in Song

LISTEN TO THIS PAGE

A traditional verse that gives voice to the essence of Bedouin life

Al-Taghrooda has its origins in the desert and mountainous regions, and rural villages of the United Arab Emirates as a form of improvised poetry among Bedouin camel riders and herders. Today, it is found throughout the nation and is a beloved component of UAE culture.

This chanted poetry was developed to help pass the long hours during desert treks on camelback. Riders also believed it encouraged the animals to walk in time with each other, and could even be used to increase their pace as the chanters quickened the rhythm of the poem. 


Riders would improvise the words of each Al-Taghrooda poem during their journeys, creating short poems of seven or fewer lines, each of which is then repeated alternately between two groups of riders. Generally, a lead singer would chant the first line and the rest of the group would respond. Then the second line would be chanted and then repeated, and so on. 

Themes

Al-Taghrooda poetry is straightforward and does not use complex metaphors. One of its most important traditional functions was to document the social and cultural history of the region. 
The most common theme in Al-Taghrooda is the love and devotion of the singer to loved ones, other relatives, friends and tribal chiefs. Poets also use Al-Taghrooda to comment on social issues, to highlight historical achievements, and to give advice on topics ranging from safe driving to healthy behaviour. It even is used to help settle disputes among individuals and tribes.
Poems are frequently cited in daily conversations and are seen as an important source of wisdom and insight into Emirati history.
Some of the most well-known Al-Taghrooda poets in the UAE include Obaid Ibn-Maa'aded Al Nua`imi, from Al Wajan; Ahmad Ibn-Salem Bal Abda Al Shamsi, from Al Ain; and Mohammed Ibn-Hamed Al Manhali, also from Al Ain.

A Glimpse Back

Today, Al-Taghrooda performances give Emirati audiences insight into their history and cultural heritage, and provide a glimpse into the traditional Emirati way of life. In a change from the past, Al-Taghrooda is not necessarily accompanied by chanting. Also new is how it is being enjoyed in written and recorded form, as well as at live events.
These poems are chanted around campfires, at weddings, at camel races, and at heritage and national festivals, while some forms of Al-Taghrooda are incorporated into traditional performances, such as Al-Ayyala. Women also compose and chant Al-Taghrooda poems while engaged in collective work, such as Al-Sadu weaving.
For Emiratis, the most important aspect of this poetry is the social bonding that happens during the exchange of verses. 
In 2012, Al-Taghrooda was inscribed on the UNESCO ‘Representative List of the Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity’.

 

Did You Know ?

A distinguishing feature of Al-Taghrooda is the exaggeration and extension of the Arabic vowel sounds as the lines of verse are being chanted. 

Postcard

Craft a postcard to send to a friend or family member, online or through the post.

Select an image

SELECT AN IMAGE

Write note

WRITE A NOTE

Email

ENTER EMAIL/ POSTAL ADDRESS

Send A postcard

HAVE YOUR SAY

الى الخلف
فنون الأداء

نظرة عامة

الصور

هل تعلم

الموارد

الشعر الغنائي

استمع للصفحة

أحد أنواع الشعر التقليدي الذي يلقي الضوء على جوهر الحياة البدوية ذات الصلة بالهجن والتنقل في الصحراء

تعود أصول فن التغرودة إلى البيئة الصحراوية، والمناطق الجبلية، والقرى الريفية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة كأحد أنماط الشعر المرتجل الذي يشدو به الحداة (ركاب الإبل والخيل) والرعاة. واليوم نجد هذا الفن منتشراً في أنحاء الدولة. كما أنه أحد العناصر التراثية المفضلة في الثقافة الإماراتية.

ظهر هذا الشعر الغنائي لترفيه المرتحلين على ظهور المطايا عن أنفسهم أثناء سيرهم لمسافات طويلة في الصحراء. كما أن أهل الصحراء وركاب الإبل كانوا يعتقدون أن هذا النوع من الغناء يحث الإبل على السير، ويسليها في الوقت نفسه، ويزيد من سرعتها كلما أسرع الحادي في إيقاعه الذي يشدو به.

يرتجل الحداة كلمات التغرودة في رحلاتهم، حيث ينظمون قصيدة قصيرة تتألف من سبعة أبيات أو أقل يكرّرها الحداة بالتناوب بينهم. وعادة ما يشدو المؤدّي الرئيس بأول القصيدة، ومن ثم يجيبه البقية بإتمامها. وبعد ذلك ينتقل إلى الجزء التالي منها، وتكرره البقية، ويتمونها، وهكذا.

الموضوعات

يتسم فن التغرودة بالايجاز والبساطة فهو لا يحتوي على أوزان شعرية صعبة. حيث يكمن أحد أهم الأدوار التقليدية لهذا الفن في توثيق التاريخ الاجتماعي والثقافي للمنطقة.

يُعدُّ الحب والوفاء من الشاعر لمحبوبه وأقاربه وأصدقائه وشيخ القبيلة هو الطابع الذي يغلب على موضوعات فن التغرودة. كما يستخدم الشعراء التغرودة للتعليق على القضايا الاجتماعية وإلقاء الضوء على الإنجازات التاريخية، وإسداء النصائح في بعض الموضوعات التي تبدأ من القيادة الآمنة إلى السلوك الصحي. كما تُستخدَم التغرودة في فض النزاعات بين الأفراد والقبائل. 

يستشهد البعض بالشعر في حديثهم اليومي، حيث أنه مصدر للحكمة والبصيرة في التاريخ الإماراتي.

ومن أكثر شعراء التغرودة الحاليين شهرة في الإمارات نجد الشاعر عبيد بن معضد النعيمي من الوقن، والشاعر أحمد بن سالم بالعبده الشامسي من العين، ومحمد بن حامد المنهالي من العين، ومحمد بن حم العامري، إضافةً إلى شعراء التغرودة القدماء ولاسيما الشاعرسعيد بن عتيج الهاملي من ليوا.

لمحة من الماضي


يقدِّم فن التغرودة اليوم رؤية متعمّقة لأبناء دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة لتعرفهم على تاريخهم وتراثهم الثقافي، كما أنه يُمكّنهم من إلقاء نظرة مقربةً على نمط الحياة التقليدية الذي كان سائداً في الدولة قديماً. ونظراً للتغيرات التي طرأت على فن التغرودة نجد أنه لايرتبط بالضرورة بالإنشاد. كما يُقدَّم هذا النوع من الشعر حالياً مكتوباً أو مسجلاً، وفي العروض الحية التي تقام في المناسبات الاجتماعية والوطنية.

تُغنَّى هذه القصائد في حفلات الأعراس وسباقات الهجن والمهرجانات التراثية والوطنية، حيث تُستخدم التغرودة في بعض العروض التقليدية كفن العيالة الشعبي. شاركت النساء أيضاً في تأليف التغرودة وغنائها أثناء العمل الجماعي، مثل حياكة السدو

وتبدو أهمية هذا الفن بالنسبة للإماراتيين في تعزيز الترابط الاجتماعي الذي يتم خلال تبادل هذه الأشعار.

أُدرِج فن التغرودة في عام 2012 ضمن القائمة التمثيليّة للتراث الثقافي غير المادي للبشرية التابعة لليونسكو.

 

هل تعلم ؟

تعد المبالغة في مد الحروف المتحركة في اللغة العربية أثناء الإنشاد من أهم السمات التي تميّز فن التغرودة.

بطاقة بريدية

صمم بطاقة بريدية لإرسالها إلى أحد الأصدقاء أو أفراد العائلة عبر الإنترنت

Select an image

اختر صورة

Write note

اكتب ملاحظة

Email

ادخل البريد الالكتروني

أرسل بطاقة بريدية

شارك برأيك