back
Performances

Gallery

Did you know

Resources

Al-Razfa: A Traditional Performing Art

Al-Razfa was inscribed in 2015 on the UNESCO Representative List of the Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity.
Al-Razfa is a traditional performing art comprising poetry and rhythm that is deeply rooted in United Arab Emirates culture. The songs have been preserved in Emirati culture for many years and provide participants with a sense of identity and pride till this day.

The performance

During the performance of Al-Razfa, two rows of men and boys face each other at about 10–20 metres apart, with drummers and other musicians gathered nearby. They perform movements with their bamboo canes in unison to the music. This UNESCO-recognised performance starts with a handful of individuals but quickly builds into a larger group. The two rows of performers move in cohesion and sing verses of poetry to each other. Al-Razfa creates a sense of community and shared identity among its performers, particularly at social events and on national occasions.

Social and cultural significance

Al-Razfa is viewed as a form of celebration and an expression of gratitude and valour. It is also performed at welcome ceremonies for dignitaries. It also plays a significant role in preserving traditional poetry. Poets who compose verses for Al-Razfa performances write original verses for individual occasions.

Re-energising a traditional performing art form

Al-Razfa is widespread across Emirati society, with young and old performers alike. As it is a public performance based on mass participation, parents encourage their children to perform at events and gatherings — one of the reasons why the performing art attracts many participants.

Children learn this heritage art through stimulation and practice, and by watching groups perform Al-Razfa at social events such as weddings, festivals and anniversaries.

At a national level, heritage associations in the United Arab Emirates are committed to introducing Al-Razfa to children and adults. Cultural, educational and media institutions also help to raise awareness of Al-Razfa.

The Ministry of Culture and Knowledge Development, the Department of Culture and Tourism - Abu Dhabi, and other heritage associations and institutions in the United Arab Emirates promote the inclusion of traditional performance troupes at festivals, celebrations and social occasions. These efforts have led to an increase in both the size and number of Al-Razfa groups.

To find out more about this cultural performance art of the United Arab Emirates, download the PDF below.

Download pdf

Did You Know?

Although traditionally Al-Razfa was performed to the beat of drums alone, more musical instruments have been introduced.

Postcard

Craft a postcard to send to a friend or family member, online or through the post

Select an image

SELECT AN IMAGE

Write note

WRITE A NOTE

Email

ENTER EMAIL/ POSTAL ADDRESS

Send A postcard

HAVE YOUR SAY

الى الخلف
فنون الأداء

الصور

هل تعلم

الموارد

الرزفة: فن أداء تقليدي

أُدرِجت الرزفة عام 2015 ضمن القائمة التمثيلية للتراث الثقافي غير المادي للبشرية التابعة لليونسكو.
الرزفة فن تقليدي أصيل يجمع بين الأداء والشعر يمتد عميقاً في تراث دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة وثقافتها. ولا تزال أغاني الرزفة محفوظة في ذاكرة الثقافة الإماراتية منذ سنوات عديدة، ولا يزال معينُها لا ينضب إذ تمنح المؤدين اليوم شعوراً بأصالة الهوية والفخر بأصولهم.

الأداء

يصطف الرجال والصبية أثناء أداء فن الرزفة في صفَّين متقابلين بينهما مسافة 10-20 متراً، بينما يجتمع عازفو الطبول وغيرهم من الموسيقيين في الجوار. يمارس الرزيفة رقصتهم حاملين عِصي الخيزران الرفيعة، ويؤدونها في تناغم حركي ينسجم مع إيقاعات الطبول. يبدأ أداء الرزفة، وهي الفن الذي أدرجته اليونسكو ضمن قائمة التراث، بمجموعة صغيرة من الأفراد سرعان ما يزداد عددها. يتحرك الصفان في تراص جميل ويتناوبان في إنشاد شطر من الشعر بينهما بالتبادل. تخلق الرزفة جواً من التلاحم المجتمعي وشعوراً بالانتماء والهوية المشتركة بين من يؤدونها، خاصة في الحفلات الاجتماعية والمناسبات الوطنية والفعاليات الكبيرة.

الأهمية الاجتماعية والثقافية لفن الرزفة

تُعدّ الرزفة شكلاً من أشكال الاحتفال وتعبيراً أدائياً عن مشاعر الامتنان والبطولة. تُؤدَّى الرزفة في مراسم الاحتفالات واستقبال كبار الشخصيات. تقوم الرزفة بدور محوري في إثراء الشعر التقليدي وصونه، لأن شعراء الرزفة يكتبون أبياتاً شعرية مخصصة لكل عرض من عروض الرزفة على حدة.

إحياء شكل من أشكال فنون الأداء التقليدية

تنتشر الرزفة وسط جميع فئات المجتمع الإماراتي، ويمارسها الصغار والكبار على حد سواء. يُشجع الآباء أبناءهم على المشاركة في أداء الرزفة أثناء الفعاليات واللقاءات، وهذا التشجيع واحد من أسباب جذب هذا الفن للعديد من المشاركين كونه أداءً يعتمد على المشاركة الجماعية.

يتعلم الأطفال هذا الفن التراثي عبر التحفيز والممارسة العملية، وأيضاً من خلال مشاهدة المجموعات تؤدي فن الرزفة في المناسبات الاجتماعية مثل الأعراس والمهرجانات والاحتفالات الوطنية السنوية.

على الصعيد الوطني، تلتزم المؤسسات المعنية بالتراث في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة بالتعريف بفن الرزفة بين مختلف الفئات العمرية. كما تُسهم المؤسسات الثقافية والتعليمية والإعلامية أيضاً في تسليط الضوء على هذا الفن الراقي.

تهتم كل من وزارة الثقافة والشباب، ودائرة الثقافة والسياحة – أبوظبي، وجمعيات ومؤسسات التراث الأخرى في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة بالترويج لإدراج عروض فرق الفنون التقليدية ضمن فقرات المهرجانات والاحتفالات، والمناسبات الاجتماعية. وقد أثمرت هذه الجهود زيادة في عدد فرق الرزفة وجموع من يؤدونها من الأفراد.

يمكنكم الاطلاع على المزيد من التفاصيل عن فن الأداء الثقافي الإماراتي هذا بتنزيل ملف PDF أدناه.

تحميل المرفق

هل تعلم ؟

كان فن الرزفة يُؤدّى في السابق على ايقاع الطبول فقط، وأدخلت المزيد من الآلات الموسيقيّة عليه مؤخراً.

بطاقة بريدية

صمم بطاقة بريدية لإرسالها إلى أحد الأصدقاء أو أفراد العائلة عبر الإنترنت

Select an image

اختر صورة

Write note

اكتب ملاحظة

Email

ادخل البريد الالكتروني

أرسل بطاقة بريدية

شارك برأيك