back
Handicrafts

OverView

Gallery

Did You Know

Resources

Al-Sadu: Traditional Weaving Skills

LISTEN TO THIS PAGE
The UNESCO-recognised traditional weaving technique in the United Arab Emirates is central to Bedouin culture

Al-Sadu is a traditional weaving technique of the United Arab Emirates and is central to Bedouin culture. In the resource-scarce lands of the Arabian Peninsula, the craft emerged from Bedouin ingenuity and resourcefulness. A traditional technique of weaving camel fur, goat hair or sheep wool into material for blankets, carpets, pillows, tents and the decoration of camel saddles and belts, Al-Sadu has been practised by Emirati women since ancient times.

Al-Sadu is an important element in United Arab Emirates culture and heritage and holds a place of honour in Emirati society, recognised for its essential role in Bedouin life and as an example of adaptation and creativity. The craft was also one of the most valuable economic contributions made by women and played a central role in the life of the community.

Because of Al-Sadu’s significance, it was inscribed in 2011 on the UNESCO List of Intangible Cultural Heritage in Need of Urgent Safeguarding.

sadu

PROCESS

The Al-Sadu process begins with the cutting of the wool, fur or hair. It is then sorted according to colour and length. This material is then cleaned, by being blown and shaken to rid it of any plant matter, thorns, dust or soil. It is then soaked in hot or cold water three or more times, using soap or detergent powder for further cleaning. The material is then blown to break it up into smaller pieces.

Next, the hair, fur or wool is spun into yarn using a drop spindle and then dyed – often in bright colours – using local plants and spices. These include henna, turmeric, saffron, cactus and indigo. Traditional Al-Sadu colours are black, white, brown and beige.

The yarn is then woven on a floor loom made from the palm tree. When a large quantity of Al-Sadu material is required, such as for a tent or for use at a wedding, several looms are used.

Traditionally, weavers would gather in small groups to spin and weave these items, exchanging family news and occasionally chanting or reciting poetry, such as Al-Taghrooda.



DESIGNS AND MOTIFS


With its diverse designs, decorations and bright colours, Al-Sadu is a heritage art form in which Emirati creativity is reflected in the most beautiful ways. Elements of the desert environment and other important aspects of Bedouin life are often incorporated into the Al-Sadu designs, as symbols, shapes or inscriptions. Al-Sadu not only provided shelter in the form of desert tents, but supplied home furnishings and accessories for horses and camels.

Common motifs include geometric patterns evocative of the region’s undulating grasslands, sand dunes and the waves of the Arabian Gulf. There are also symbols of palm trees, camels, sheep, falcons, dallah coffee pots and mosques while verses from the Holy Qur’an and wasem tribal symbols and names are also popular. Some motifs express specific ideals, such as the chain with overlapping rings, which symbolises tribal unity and cohesion.


For more information about Al-Sadu, click on the PDF below.

Download PDF

Did You Know ?

The traditional Bedouin tent, Bayt Al-She`r (house of hair), is a long, low, black tent made of Al-Sadu-woven goat hair.

Postcard

Craft a postcard to send to a friend or family member, online or through the post.

Select an image

SELECT AN IMAGE

Write note

WRITE A NOTE

Email

ENTER EMAIL/ POSTAL ADDRESS

Send A postcard

HAVE YOUR SAY

الى الخلف
الحرف اليدوية

نظرة عامة

الصور

هل تعلم

المقالات المميزة

حرفة يدوية متعددة الاستخدامات

استمع للصفحة
يُعد السدو أحد أنواع النسيج البدوي التقليدي الذي يميز حياة وثقافة أهل البادية، ويُستخدم في حياكة الخيام والسجاد ورِحال الإبل
يعد السدو من الحرف التي يشتهر بها أهل البادية في المناطق الشحيحة للموارد الطبيعية في شبة الجزيرة العربية، ويستخدم في حياكة هذا النسيج البدوي التقليدي وبر الإبل وشعر الماعز وصوف الأغنام، ويصنع منه البطّانيات والسجاد والوسائد والخيام وزينة رِحال الإبل.
يحتل السدو مكانة خاصة في المجتمع الإماراتي، حيث يُعد من أبرز الحرف التي تلعب دوراً أساسياً في الحياة البدوية ومثالا ملموساً يعكس مدى براعتهم وقدرتهم على التكيف مع بيئتهم الطبيعية. وتعد ممارسة النساء البدويات لهذه الحرفة إحدى المساهمات الاقتصادية القيّمة التي تقدمها للمجتمع، فضلاً عن الدور الرئيس الذي لعبه السدو في الحياة الاجتماعية للمرأة الإمارتية.
ونظراً لأهمية حرفة السدو، تمكنت دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة في عام 2011 من إدراجها في قائمة اليونسكو للتراث الثقافي غير المادي الذي يحتاج إلى صونٍ عاجل.

مراحل حياكة السدو

تبدأ عملية صنع السدو بقص صوف الغنم وشعر الماعز وجمع وبر الإبل، ثم يتم تصنيفها حسب اللون والطول، ثم يُنظَّف الصوف بطرقه وهزّه لإزالة الشوائب، مثل النباتات أو الأشواك أو الغبار أو الأتربة حتى تصبح أصوافه صالحةً للنسج. ولاستكمال هذه العملية، يتم تنظيف الصوف ثلاث مرات أو أكثر باستخدام الماء الساخن أو البارد مع الطين أو الرماد أو مسحوق السدو الخاص أو الصابون.
يُغزل الشعر أو الصوف باستخدام المغزل، ثمّ يُصبغ بالألوان الزاهية المستخلصة من النباتات والتوابل المتوفرة في الإمارات العربية المتحدة، مثل الحناء والكركم والزعفران والصبار والنيلة. ويتميز السدو التقليدي بألوانه المختلفة التي تتنوع بين الأسود والأبيض والبني والبيج والأحمر.
يُغزل الصوف على النول، وهو آلة الحياكة المصنوعة من النخيل أو خشب العناب. ويتم استخدام عدة أنوال عند الحاجة إلى كميات كبيرة من مواد السدو اللازمة لصناعة الخيام أو في الأعراس.
وقد جرت العادة أن يُغزل الصوف ويحاك في مجموعات صغيرة، حيث تتبادل النسّاجات أخبار أسرهن. وعادةً ما يقمن بالغناء أو إلقاء الشعر، مثل فن التغرودة.

التصاميم والزخارف

تتأثر النقوش والزخارف والأشكال والرموز المستخدمة في حرفة السدو بالبادية.
وتتميز هذه الزخارف الشائعة بأشكالها الهندسية التي تبرز الأراضي العُشبيّة المُنبسطة والكثبان الرملية وأشجار النخيل والأزهار والإبل والأغنام والصقور والآيات القرآنية والمساجد وأسماء القبائل. كما أنها تعكس أفكاراً معينة، فعلى سبيل المثال يجسّد شكل القلادة ذات الحلقات المتداخلة وحدة وتماسك أفراد القبيلة.
تتمثل أهم زخارف السدو في تصاميم أساسية مثل نقش الأشجار ونقش عويريان ونقش عين الغدير، والتصميمات المُزينة بالجلد والحبوب وأسنان الخيل.

هل تعلم ؟

تحاك الخيمة البدوية التقليدية المعروفة باسم بيت الشعر، وتتميز بطولها ولونها الأسود، من شعر الماعز باستخدام السدو.

بطاقة بريدية

صمم بطاقة بريدية لإرسالها إلى أحد الأصدقاء أو أفراد العائلة عبر الإنترنت

Select an image

اختر صورة

Write note

اكتب ملاحظة

Email

ادخل البريد الالكتروني

أرسل بطاقة بريدية

شارك برأيك