back
Educational Programmes
detail banner

International Course on the Conservation of Earthen Architecture 2022

International Course on the Conservation of Earthen Architecture 2022

Overview
The International Course on the Conservation of Earthen Architecture is a one-month training initiative held in the World Heritage city of Al Ain, UAE, organized by the Getty Conservation Institute in partnership with Department of Culture and Tourism - Abu Dhabi. The aim of the course is to improve the practice of earthen heritage conservation by providing practical training for mid-career professionals from the Middle Eastern, North African and south Asian regions.


Background
In many regions of the world, including in the Arabian Gulf, earth has been used as a construction material for millennia. In the World Heritage Site of Al Ain, for example, there are numerous earthen archaeological sites dating from the Bronze and Iron ages (ca. 3000-1000 BCE), as well as late Islamic period houses, forts and mosques built in adobe brick. While these significant sites are being protected and preserved, earthen structures around the world are rapidly disappearing due to abandonment, demolition, and replacement with modern materials.


Though the Middle East, North Africa and South Asia hold the majority of the world’s earthen architecture, there are few targeted training opportunities for professionals working in the region on the conservation of earthen heritage.


Al Ain was chosen as the location for the course because of its central location in the region, rich earthen heritage and the variety of conservation approaches and examples implemented by DCT Abu Dhabi over the last decade.


The course inscribes itself within the GCI’s long term Earthen Architecture Initiative.


EAC 18
The first International Course on the Conservation of Earthen Architecture took place in Al-Ain, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates and Manah, Oman from October 28th to November 22nd, 2018. Organised by the Getty Conservation Institute and Department of Culture and Tourism – Abu Dhabi, the course was attended by 22 professionals in conservation of earthen heritage from North Africa, the Middle East and South Asia. The course covered practical methods and theoretical foundations for the conservation of earthen historic buildings and archaeological sites including conservation theory, material analysis, documentation and diagnosis, as well as preventive conservation, structural interventions and rehabilitation. The course was taught by a total of 15 professors and instructors, all experts in the conservation of earthen materials. Click here to see some of the outcomes of EAC 18


EAC 22
Building on the successful model of EAC 18, the second International course on the Conservation of Earthen Architecture will take place in Al-Ain, Abu Dhabi, UAE and Manah, Oman from October 22nd to November 19th, 2022.


Course topics include:
• Conservation theory and principles
• Laboratory and field analysis of earthen materials
• Earth as a building material—use and construction techniques
• Mechanisms of decay—material and structural
• Methods of recording for documentation and analysis
• Conservation methodology—Planning of conservation and rehabilitation interventions
• Practical conservation methods— structural and non-structural
• Maintenance and preventive conservation
• Developing rehabilitation and adaptive re-use projects for earthen buildings
• A study trip to Oman where participants will carry out an exercise on the conservation of urban settlements made of earth (Manah village near Nizwa, Oman)


Participants
The course is designed for a maximum of 20 participants.
The course is open to archaeologists, architects, conservator-restorers, conservation scientists, engineers and other professionals working with earthen heritage from the Middle Eastern, North African and south Asian regions.


Language
The course will be conducted in English. Candidates must have a thorough technical knowledge and command of English. A certificate of language proficiency is required.


Certificate
A course certificate will be awarded to participants who complete the course and have attended all course activities.


Course fee: $750
Apply by February 15, 2022. For further details on the course and how to apply, please click here.

الى الخلف
البرامج التعليمية
detail banner

الدورة التدريبية الدولية حول الحفاظ على العمارة الطينية لعام 2022

الدورة التدريبية الدولية حول الحفاظ على العمارة الطينية لعام 2022

نبذة عامة
تعد "الدورة التدريبية الدولية حول الحفاظ على العمارة الطينية"، التي ينظمها معهد "غيتي" للمحافظة على التراث بالتعاون مع دائرة الثقافة والسياحة - أبوظبي ، مبادرة تدريبية تعقد على مدى شهر كامل في مدينة العين، إحدى مواقع التراث العالمي بدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة. تهدف هذه الدورة إلى تعزيز ممارسات حفظ وصون العمارة الطينية من خلال تقديم دورات تدريبية عملية للمتخصصين متوسطي الخبرة في هذا المجال من الشرق الأوسط، وشمال أفريقيا، وجنوب آسيا.


مقدمة
ظل الطين لآلاف السنين يُستخدم كمادة للبناء في مناطق كثيرة بالعالم بما في ذلك الخليج العربي. فعلى سبيل المثال، تشتهر مدينة العين بمواقعها التراثية المدرجة على قائمة مواقع التراث العالمي التابعة لمنظمة اليونسكو والتي يعود تاريخها إلى العصرين البرونزي والحديدي (حوالي 3000-1000 قبل الميلاد)، فضلاً عن المنازل والحصون والمساجد المبنية من الطوب اللبن التي تعود إلى أواخر العصر الإسلامي. ورغم الممارسات والجهود المبذولة حالياً لحماية هذه المواقع الهامة والحفاظ عليها، إلا أن المباني الطينية تتعرض للاندثار في جميع أنحاء العالم نظراً لإهمالها وتدميرها أو استبدال عناصرها الطبيعية بأخرى معاصرة.

تمتلك منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقية وجنوب آسيا غالبية العمارة الطينية في العالم، وعلى الرغم من ذلك فإن هناك القليل من الفرص التدريب المستهدفة للمهنيين العاملين في المنطقة في مجال صون وحفظ تراث العمارة الطينية.

وقد وقع الاختيار على مدينة العين لتكون مكان انعقاد الدورة تدريبية لأسباب عديدة منها: موقعها المتميز وسط المنطقة، وثرائها بالمواقع التراثية الطينية، وتنوع أساليب ونماذج الحفاظ على التراث التي نفذتها دائرة الثقافة والسياحة - أبوظبي على مدى العقد الماضي.

وبذلك، تُرسِّخ هذه الدورة مكانتها ضمن إطار مبادرة العمارة الطينية طويلة المدى التي أطلقها معهد "غيتي" للمحافظة على التراث.


دورة العمارة الطينية لعام 2018
عقدت الدورة التدريبية الأولى حول الحفاظ على العمارة الطينية في الفترة بين 28 أكتوبر و22 نوفمبر عام 2018 في مدينة العين بدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة ومنها إلى سلطنة عُمان وبتنظيم من دائرة الثقافة والسياحة – أبوظبي ومعهد "غيتي" للمحافظة على التراث ، حضر الدورة 22 متخصصاً في الحفاظ على العمارة الطينية التراثية من الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا وجنوب آسيا.

تدرب المشاركون على الطرق العملية والأسس والنظريات الخاصة بالحفاظ على العمارة الطينية والمواقع الأثرية بالإضافة إلى آليات تحليل المواد ونظريات الحفاظ والتوثيق والتدخلات الإنشائية وإعادة التأهيل بما في ذلك عمليات الحفظ الوقائي، أشرف على الدورة كادر متخصص مكون من خمسة عشر خبيراً في الحفاظ على المواد الطينية ، يمكنكم الاطلاع ومعرفة المزيد عن نتائج الدورة السابقة لعام 2018 من خلال الضغط على الرابط (هنا).


دورة الحفاظ على العمارة الطينية لعام 2022
وبعد نجاح الذي حققته الدورة السابقة للعمارة الطينية لعام 2018 ، سيتم عقد الدورة الدولية الثانية الخاصة بالحفاظ على العمارة الطينية في الفترة بين 22 أكتوبر إلى 19 نوفمبر 2022 في مدينة العين بدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة ومنها إلى ولاية منح في سلطنة عُمان.


وتشمل موضوعات الدورة التدريبية ما يلي:
• نظرية ومبادئ الحفاظ.
• التحليل المخبري والميداني للمواد الطينية.
• الطين باعتباره مادة بناء، وتقنيات استخدامه وتشكيله.
• مظاهر وآليات التدهور الإنشائي والمواد البنائية.
• أساليب التسجيل لأغراض التوثيق والتحليل.
• منهجية الحفاظ والتخطيط للتدخلات المعنية بالحفظ وإعادة التأهيل.
• أساليب الحفاظ العملية، الإنشائية وغير الإنشائية على السواء.
• الصيانة، والحفظ الوقائي.
• إقامة مشروعات إعادة التأهيل، والاستخدام المناسب للمباني الطينية
• سيتم في الأسبوع الأخير من الدورة إجراء رحلة دراسية إلى سلطنة عُمان لتدريب المشاركين على حفظ التجمعات الحضرية المبنية من الطين (ولاية منح بالقرب من نزوى، سلطنة عُمان)


المشاركون
تضم الدورة 20 مشاركاً كحد أقصى.
باب المشاركة مفتوح أمام علماء الآثار، والمهندسين المعماريين، ومتخصصي أعمال الحفظ والترميم، وعلماء الحفظ، والمهندسين المدنيين، وغيرهم من المتخصصين في مجال التراث الطيني من الشرق الأوسط، وشمال أفريقيا، وجنوب آسيا.


اللغة
تُقدَّم الدورة التدريبية باللغة الإنجليزية، ويجب أن يكون المرشحون على دراية تامة بالمعلومات الفنية والمصطلحات باللغة الإنجليزية، كما يجب تقديم شهادة إجادة اللغة الإنجليزية.


الشهادة
يحصل المشاركون على شهادة عند استكمال الدورة التدريبية بشرط الالتزام بحضور جميع الأنشطة ذات الصلة.


رسوم الدورة: 750 دولاراً
يغلق باب التسجيل بتاريخ 15 فبراير 2022، للمزيد من المعلومات حول الدورة التدريبية، الرجاء اضغط هنا